Mendeley is a free bibliographic/citation management application. Mendeley has both a desktop and online version that can be synced together. To access all of the tools provided within Mendeley you will need both applications.
Mendeley is easy to use and will allow you to:
General Quick Start Help
See the Mendeley online user guide for helpful information about using Mendeley on your particular platform.
See the Mendeley online video guide for helpful demonstrations
Using Mendeley with Microsoft Office or OpenOffice
Creating In-Text citations using Mendeley with Microsoft Word
Step 1: Download the Word plugin from Mendeley (located in the "Tools" menu of Mendeley Desktop)
Step 2: Open your Microsoft Word document. Using the References tab select the citation style that you wish to use (such as APA, MLA, etc.). You can change your citation style easily and at any time.
Step 3: When you come to a place where you want to insert your in-text citation select the "Insert Citation" icon in the Word "References" tab.
Step 4: After selecting "Insert Citation" a window will open which will allow you to search for the citation within Mendeley . You can easily insert several citations at a time from your Mendeley library.
Creating a Reference Section (or Bibliography) Using Mendeley and Microsoft Word
Step 1: Download the Word plugin from Mendeley (located in the "Tools" menu of Mendeley Desktop) (see steps above).
Step 2: Insert your in-text citations (see steps above).
Step 3: Within the References tab in Microsoft Word select your preferred bibliographic style (such as APA, MLA, etc.) (see steps above).
Step 4: Go to the area in your paper where you would like to insert your reference section and click "Insert Bibliography." Your bibliography, which includes all of your in-text citations, will appear.
Step 5: Verify that all of your references were exported in a correct format (remember the principles of "garbage in - garbage out").
Getting Citation Information from Article Databases
From UDiscover or other EBSCO Databases
Step 1: From an individual record in UDiscover, click the Export button on the right side of the screen.
From Web of Science
Step 1: In Web of Science, select files you wish to add to Mendeley.
Step 2: Click on the dropdown box labeled, Save to Other File For...
Step 3: Select Save to Other File Formats.
Step 5: In Mendeley, click the Add Files button in the top left corner. Choose the newly downloaded file, then click Open. The citation is now a part of your citation library.
Step 1: In PubMed, choose the article you wish to add to Mendeley. In the upper right corner click Send to: drop arrow.
Step 3: In Mendeley, click the Add Files button in the top left corner. Choose the newly downloaded file, then click Open. The citation is now a part of your citation library.
From Google Scholar
Step 1: In Google Scholar find the article you wish to add to Mendeley. Click the Cite button under its description.