EDC 568

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of quantitative social science data for research and instruction. Since 1962, ICPSR has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. It covers a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Major datasets in ICPSR include the General Social Survey, World and European Values Survey, American National Election Studies, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Health and Medical Care Archive, the International Archive of Education Data, and many more.

Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

This online research tool is designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical US census data and demographic information from 1790-2010, generating maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets. It creates reports at all geographic levels, including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place to show population density, income level, and more. Visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to interactive thematic maps of historical census data. Data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS, updated continuously), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program Data. International data is sourced from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data. 

Data Commons is an open-source platform created by Google that provides access to a vast knowledge graph combining economic, scientific, and public datasets. It offers a unified view of information from sources like the United Nations, U.S. Census, World Bank, and Wikipedia. The database covers a wide range of topics, including demographics, economics, health, climate, and more, with over 240 billion data points across 260,000 variables. Users can access data from 193 countries, 110,000 cities, and 5,000 states and provinces. The platform utilizes Linked Open Data technologies and provides APIs for easy data integration and analysis. Data Commons emphasizes statistical data representation and includes tools for visualization, natural language queries, and data exploration. It serves as a valuable resource for researchers, policymakers, journalists, and anyone interested in accessing and analyzing public data to address societal challenges.

Dataset Search is a specialized search engine developed by Google that enables users to discover and access millions of datasets from thousands of repositories across the web. It indexes datasets that have been marked up with schema.org structured data, covering a wide range of topics including geosciences, social sciences, biology, computer science, and more. The platform provides a user-friendly interface with a simple keyword search function, allowing researchers, students, and data enthusiasts to find relevant datasets quickly. Search results display key metadata such as the dataset's name, description, creator, update date, and usage permissions. Users can refine searches using filters like date, format, and topic. Dataset Search aims to make datasets more discoverable and accessible, supporting various fields of research and analysis. The tool continues to grow, with over 31 million datasets indexed from more than 4,600 internet domains as of 2020, offering a valuable resource for anyone seeking to leverage public data for research or analysis.

At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.