Library Guides: International Business: Company Research

Company Profiles

Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive profiles of over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Comprehensive profiles for publicly traded companies including financial data, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability and ESG information, SEC and annual filings, officers, directors, and analyst reports. Also provides country risk profiles and ICB Industry Reports. Quickly access a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG, and economic data views and reports. Search the following industries: technology, telecommunications, healthcare, financials, real estate, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, industrials, basic materials, energy, and utilities. Mergent Market Atlas will replace Mergent Online in 2025.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol.
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers

Company Reports and Analysis

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Search by company name.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries. Find information on companies and products in the Reports tab or search by company name.
At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.

Using SEC Filings in Company Research

Public companies in the US are required to file annual, quarterly, and current reports based on SEC regulations. Annual and quarterly reports include financial information for the period covered by the report. Item 1 of annual reports includes risk factors that inform overall macroenvironment analyses.

Form Type	Description
10-K	This is a company's annual report. It provides audited annual financial statements, a discussion of material risk factors for the company and its business, and a management’s discussion and analysis of the company’s results of operations for the prior fiscal year.
10-Q	These are quarterly reports. A 10-Q includes unaudited quarterly financial statements, updates regarding material risks that the company faces, and management’s discussion and analysis of the company’s results of operations for the prior fiscal quarter.
8-K	Current reports which disclose material events or information that the company chooses or is required to make public prior to its next scheduled quarterly or annual report.

Source: EDGAR Guide

EDGAR This link opens in a new window
EDGAR indexes all required SEC filings of publicly traded companies. Search by company name.
The United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) provides access to millions of informational documents filed by publicly traded companies in their Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system. This database provides automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies. EDGAR Resources include a list of Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes, used to indicate a company's type of business; a search engine to find Central Index Key (CIK) numbers assigned to filers; a Public Dissemination Service (PDS); RESTful data Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that include the submissions history by filer and the XBRL data from financial statements; and Really Simple Syndication (RSS) Feeds for EDGAR submissions to view, analyze, and manipulate filings.

How to Read a 10-K
A guide to understanding the kinds of information available in companies' 10-K reports