Library Guides: MKT 430: Brand Management: Company Analysis

Company Profiles and Reports

Business Source Complete
Search by company name or ticker symbol to find company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and articles from business publications.

Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
EDGAR
Indexes SEC filings of publicly traded companies. Annual reports (10-K) include a section called Business, which describes the company's main products and services.

The United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) provides access to millions of informational documents filed by publicly traded companies in their Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system. This database provides automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies. EDGAR Resources include a list of Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes, used to indicate a company's type of business; a search engine to find Central Index Key (CIK) numbers assigned to filers; a Public Dissemination Service (PDS); RESTful data Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) that include the submissions history by filer and the XBRL data from financial statements; and Really Simple Syndication (RSS) Feeds for EDGAR submissions to view, analyze, and manipulate filings.
Mergent Market Atlas
Use Mergent Market Atlas to find detailed profiles for publicly traded companies. Company profiles include key background information and financial data.

Comprehensive profiles for publicly traded companies including financial data, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability and ESG information, SEC and annual filings, officers, directors, and analyst reports. Also provides country risk profiles and ICB Industry Reports. Quickly access a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG, and economic data views and reports. Search the following industries: technology, telecommunications, healthcare, financials, real estate, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, industrials, basic materials, energy, and utilities. Mergent Market Atlas will replace Mergent Online in 2025.

Company Websites

Company websites provide a range of information that can be useful in understanding their products, services, and priorities. It is important to remember that most website information is subjective and intended for marketing, however, publicly traded companies will often include important reports and brand and product insights on their investor relations webpages. A simple Google search for the company name + "investor relations" can help you locate these resources on a company website.

Examples: