This page provides suggested sources of information about logistics-related industries, including publications available through library databases, links to the websites of relevant professional & trade associations, relevant government and international institutions, and web sources.
Logistics-Related Industry Classification Codes
- NAICS 48-49: Transportation and Warehousing
- NAICS 541614: Process, Physical Distribution, and Logistics Consulting Services
- 2022 NAICS Definition: Sector 48-49 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry sector 48-49, including a full listing of subsectors.
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 541614 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 541614.
Library Resources
Recommended Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals; company reports and industry profiles. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
Scholarly Journals
- Logistics and Transportation ReviewA monthly peer-reviewed academic journal publishing informative and high quality articles drawn from across the spectrum of logistics and transportation research.
- Transportation Research RecordPeer-reviewed journal for transportation research papers, covering a range of topics from academic and practitioner perspective. Includes articles focused on logistics.
- Research in Transportation Business & ManagementPeer-reviewed articles on international aspects of transport management including business strategy, management, logistics, and law.
Industry-Focused Publications
- DC VelocityTrade publication focused on topics relevant to logistics and supply chain management.
- Inbound Logistics MagazineTrade publication focused on supply chain and business operations in the logistics industry.
- Journal of CommerceThe Journal of Commerce magazine is produced by a team of specialized, subject-matter expert journalists providing original daily news analysis of international logistics for corporate logistics teams and other participants in global supply chains.
- Logistics ManagementMonthly trade publication focused on a wide range of topics in the logistics industry.
- SupplyChainBrainA trade publication covering many topics in logistics and related industries.
- Supply Chain Management ReviewTrade publication focused on supply chain topics, including logistics, transportation, and external trends.
Professional & Trade Organizations
- American Trucking AssociationsATA is a national trade association for the trucking industry.
- Association for Supply Chain ManagementProfessional organization providing research and resources for supply chain and transportation industries.
- Council of Supply Chain Management ProfessionalsInternational supply chain management association.
- Intermodal Association of North AmericaIANA is a trade organization representing the intermodal freight transportation industry.
- International Transport ForumThe ITF is an intergovernmental organization focused on policy and research on all modes of transportation.
- International Warehouse Logistics AssociationIWLA is a trade association representing the warehouse-based third-party logistics industry.
- Material Handling Institute (MHI)International trade association focused on material handling within the supply chain and logistics industries.
- National Customs Brokers & Forwarders Association of AmericaThe NCBFAA is a U.S. industry organization representing freight forwarders and members of the logistics industry engaged in international trade.
- Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA)TIA is a professional association providing resources, education, information, and advocacy for the third-party logistics industry.
- Warehousing Education and Research CouncilA professional organization focused on warehousing, distribution, fulfillment, and third party logistics.
Government and International Resources
- Country Commercial Guides
Reports and insights on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared by U.S. Embassies worldwide. - International Trade Administration
The ITA is a division of the U.S. Department of Commerce. This site provides a wealth of resources related to exporting and international trade, including data, regulatory information, and country reports. - TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)TRID is an integrated database providing access to over 1 million records of transportation research.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsThe U.S. Department of Transportation's source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics.
Web Resources
- Inbound Logistics OnlineWeb-based content from Inbound Logistics
- Logistics Management OnlineWeb-based content from Logistics Management.
- SupplyChainBrain OnlineWeb-based content from SupplyChainBrain.
- Supply Chain Management Review OnlineWeb-based content from SCMR
- Transport TopicsOnline news publication focused on the trucking and freight transportation industry.
