Library Guides: MGT 410: Country Profiles & Data

Country Profiles

Business Source Complete
To find country profiles in Business Source Complete, limit Source Type to Country Report in an Advanced Search or your search results.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) World Factbook
Country profiles are available for most countries. Profiles include information on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, military, and more.

Mergent Market Atlas
Click on the Country link in the navigation menu to find country profiles and risk reports. Includes credit, supply, market, and political environment details and information about trade regulations.
Comprehensive profiles for publicly traded companies including financial data, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability and ESG information, SEC and annual filings, officers, directors, and analyst reports. Also provides country risk profiles and ICB Industry Reports. Quickly access a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG, and economic data views and reports. Search the following industries: technology, telecommunications, healthcare, financials, real estate, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, industrials, basic materials, energy, and utilities. Mergent Market Atlas will replace Mergent Online in 2025.
Statista
An extensive statistics platform providing data, reports, and charts, using data from market reports, government data services, and trade & research organizations, offering data-driven insights across industries, markets, and consumer trends.
At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.

International Business & Demographic Data

Country Commercial Guides
Reports and insights on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared by U.S. Embassies worldwide.

globalEDGE
A comprehensive source of information and tools for international business research, including country insights, industry analyses, and market information from 1000s of sources.
A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Features include trade statistics, rankings of corporations by country/region, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness. This platform was created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), and is partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program).
IMF eLibrary
This resource provides access to the International Monetary Fund's publications, including reports, data, and research on global economic issues, financial stability, and development.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. Some of the datasets include International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS).

OECD Data
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a source of global macroeconomic and trade data for 36 member countries. Some reports and data are available for free.

Statista
An extensive statistics platform providing data, reports, and charts, using data from market reports, government data services, and trade & research organizations, offering data-driven insights across industries, markets, and consumer trends.
At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.

U.S. Census Bureau International Database
The IDB provides global demographic data population estimates and projections are informed by hundreds of data sources around the world, including censuses, surveys, administrative records, and vital statistics.