Librarian
Resources
- Chicana por mi RazaChicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. The site is primarily comprised of oral histories.
- CLAGS: The Center for Lesbian and Gay StudiesThe Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS), founded in 1991, is the first university-based research center in the United States dedicated to the study of historical, cultural, and political issues of vital concern to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals and communities.
- Equality ArchiveEquality Archive contains unique assets—brief, accessible, fact-based, archival entries on a range of topics written by over 25 feminists who are professors, artists, and authors. Every entry is peer-reviewed, and each entry contains references, links to film, video, speeches, or music relevant to its topic. Every entry also connects with an opportunity to get involved—to volunteer or donate to an established organization already working toward a social good that must include empowered women.
- MerlotProvides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
- The National Academies Press (NAP)Resource that provides textbooks on women and minorities in the behavioral and social science division. All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
- Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource SitesA selective, annotated, and highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- Humanities Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers. Content includes foundational backlist titles in the humanities and social sciences, with 150-200 new titles added annually. - American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 This link opens in a new window
This collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Part 1 & Part 2) This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Includes the experiences of approximately 500 women, in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Includes biographies and bibliographies. Holdings cover more than 300 years of history.
- Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. Access provided to more than 16,000 images from the personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner and date from 1898 to 1958. - Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia. It indexes scholarly and popular publications including journals, books, conference papers and theses.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, 1675-1950 This link opens in a new window
Includes experiences of over 1,000 women through 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography. Entries date from the 17th - 2oth century.
- Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection is comprised of records of three women’s rights organizations: the National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. It also searches the Citizens Advisory Council on the Status of Women, Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992, the papers of the NAACP, and the records of other major civil rights organizations. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. Genre categories include non-fiction, verse, fiction, and drama. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for more than 800 publications, it covers disciplines such as sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
