Librarian
Resources
- BCcampus OpenEdProvides access to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
- Chicana por mi RazaChicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. The site is primarily comprised of oral histories.
- MerlotProvides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. Filter by discipline using the left side navigation tool.
- The National Academies Press (NAP)Resource that provides textbooks on women and minorities in the behavioral and social science division. All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- Humanities Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers. Content includes foundational backlist titles in the humanities and social sciences, with 150-200 new titles added annually. - African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers that promotes itself as a one-of-a-kind record of African American history and culture. The oldest newspaper dates to 1842.
- American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 This link opens in a new window
This collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window
This collection is a module of ProQuest's History Vault. The focus is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government. This module also contains important documentation that shows the longer arc of the freedom struggle both before and after the highpoint of the post-World War II civil rights movement. Content coverage dates from 1901-1991. - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains the non-fiction works of more than 1000 American black leaders, including speeches, leaflets, essays, interviews and transcripts. The collection includes more 100,000 pages covering 250 years of history.
- Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the 19th and 20th century poetry and fiction from the Caribbean. Includes rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. More than 575 titles are available. - Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
This database was developed to cover all areas of Caribbean study. It includes access to not only journals, books, and magazines but biographies, conference proceedings, country reports, and trade publications. More than 80 full-text journals are available as well as French and Spanish publications.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.
- History Vault This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries. Features the Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 Collection.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers featuring titles from Central and South America. Most publications are in Spanish but a significant number in Portuguese and English.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events (from the 17th century to the present) as told by the individuals who lived through them.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes additional images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and maps. Access provided to more than 20,000 articles, 700 primary sources, 2500 images, and 200 maps. - Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to ethnic and racial studies.
- "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 This link opens in a new window
This archive includes 4,285 pages sourced from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. Holdings begin with 1961. Included are surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more. These materials provide unique (and in some cases recently declassified) insight into the Freedom Rides, the Kennedy administration and the segregated South.
