Social Sciences Online Teaching Resources

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is a comprehensive database covering criminal justice and criminology research. It provides access to over 400,000 records from leading sources in the field, including full-text content for many important journals and magazines. The database covers a wide range of topics such as criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections, policing, forensic sciences, and substance abuse. Content includes journal articles, books, government reports, and dissertations, with coverage dating back to the 1960s for some titles. The database offers indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles, making it an invaluable resource for researchers, students, and professionals in criminal justice and related fields. Its extensive coverage of forensic sciences, corrections, and criminal investigation makes it particularly useful for those studying or working in law enforcement and the legal system.

This intelligence database for security and threat analysis provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, proprietary background information, images, journals, periodicals, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management options. It combines scholarly peer-reviewed journals with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies, and publishers, and provides timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.

This full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students provides psychology journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling. Subjects include anthropology, emotional & behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational & experimental methods, and psychiatry. Many included journals are indexed in APA PsycInfo.

As the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication, "Psychological Abstracts," American Psychological Association (APA) PsycInfo is an index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields. It is relevant to the study of psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, public health, sociology, and social work. It indexes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,000 journals. It also includes the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

This resource covers international scholarship and research in sociology, social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, and social and cultural structure from 1965 to the present. Content consists of full-text journals, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and working papers. It contains all sociology databases available from ProQuest, including Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)‎, Sociological Abstracts (including Social Services Abstracts), and ProQuest's own Sociology Database. Areas covered include: Addiction, Community and mental health services, Family and marriage, Gender studies, Gerontology, Race and ethnicity, Social care, Social policy, Social services, Social structure, Social welfare, Social work, and Sociology.

This database includes full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals and magazines with searchable cited references, providing users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.

This search tool lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search, simultaneously searching the UD catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and many of the online resources available through the University Libraries, in addition to institutional repositories and open-access resources. With UDiscover, you can access millions of journal articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, videos, and primary sources. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of quantitative social science data for research and instruction. Since 1962, ICPSR has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. It covers a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Major datasets in ICPSR include the General Social Survey, World and European Values Survey, American National Election Studies, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Health and Medical Care Archive, the International Archive of Education Data, and many more.

At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.

A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Note: access is available for content that predates 12/31/21; any content from 01/01/2022 - present is unavailable.