Social Sciences Online Teaching Resources

This database includes full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals and magazines with searchable cited references, providing users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It also includes full text for more than 700 books and 6,000 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

This resource covers international scholarship and research in sociology, social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, and social and cultural structure from 1965 to the present. Content consists of full-text journals, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and working papers. It contains all sociology databases available from ProQuest, including Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)‎, Sociological Abstracts (including Social Services Abstracts), and ProQuest's own Sociology Database. Areas covered include: Addiction, Community and mental health services, Family and marriage, Gender studies, Gerontology, Race and ethnicity, Social care, Social policy, Social services, Social structure, Social welfare, Social work, and Sociology.

Combining the "Anthropological Literature" database from Harvard University and "Anthropological Index" from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK, this resource provides records focusing on social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, archaeology, art history, ethnology, folklore, material culture, religion, and more. Content types indexed include journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries.

This database indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Users may search Web of Science Core Collection or any of the following databases: BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Grants Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

This full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students provides psychology journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling. Subjects include anthropology, emotional & behavioral characteristics, mental processes, observational & experimental methods, and psychiatry. Many included journals are indexed in APA PsycInfo.

As the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication, "Psychological Abstracts," American Psychological Association (APA) PsycInfo is an index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields. It is relevant to the study of psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, nursing, biomedical sciences, public health, sociology, and social work. It indexes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,000 journals. It also includes the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of quantitative social science data for research and instruction. Since 1962, ICPSR has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. It covers a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Major datasets in ICPSR include the General Social Survey, World and European Values Survey, American National Election Studies, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Health and Medical Care Archive, the International Archive of Education Data, and many more.

Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

This online research tool is designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical US census data and demographic information from 1790-2010, generating maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets. It creates reports at all geographic levels, including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place to show population density, income level, and more. Visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to interactive thematic maps of historical census data. Data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS, updated continuously), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program Data. International data is sourced from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data. 

This resource provides data on all aspects of American history from colonial times through the year 2000. It is divided into five sections: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Data series relate to the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences, including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. This database is the electronic counterpart of the 5-volume print publication "Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition."

A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Note: access is available for content that predates 12/31/21; any content from 01/01/2022 - present is unavailable. 

This online resource provides comprehensive access to a wide array of demographic, economic, and geographic data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau. It includes information from various surveys, such as the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), which gather data on population characteristics, housing, income, education, and employment. Users can explore over 2.5 million tables of raw data, maps, and profiles through the Census Bureau's main dissemination platform, data.census.gov. The database offers tools for customized searches, allowing users to filter data by geographic area, topic, and time period. Additionally, it features QuickFacts for quick statistics on states and counties, as well as detailed datasets that support research and policy-making. This resource is essential for researchers, policymakers, and anyone interested in understanding the socio-economic landscape of the United States.