Library Guides: Social Sciences Online Teaching Resources: Communication

Resources

SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Available through June 2020.

Oral Communication Resources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. To search for speeches, use the menu box for document type and select "speech."
This index of scholarly literature on United States and Canadian history and culture covers prehistoric times to the present. The database includes citations for journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Subject areas covered include history, anthropology, art, cultural studies, genealogy, literature & folklore, popular culture, sociology, women's and gender studies, geography, political science, and more. This is the electronic continuation of the print index "America: History and Life," published by ABC-CLIO.
Great Speeches Video Series This link opens in a new window
A collection of videos featuring historic speeches from influential figures across politics, civil rights, and social movements, offering insights into key moments in history.
The Great Speeches Video Series is an online instructional tool for speech communicators. Each volume contains at least 5 speeches, in their entirety, and is prefaced by a biographical narration providing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech. More than 60 videos available, featuring Presidents Nixon, Roosevelt, Obama, Kennedy, Reagan, Truman, Carter, Johnson, Clinton, and Bush, H.W., and many other influential figures from the20th and 21st centuries. Videos range in length from 2 to 160 minutes.

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, journals, and reports in communication and media studies, covering various aspects of mass communication and related fields. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides coverage of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including journalism, mass media, discourse, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, rhetoric, and advertising. It includes indexing and some full-text for books and conference proceedings. CMMC incorporates CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association, and Mass Media Articles Index, along with other journals to create a comprehensive research and reference resource for communication and mass media fields.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming service providing access to a diverse collection of films and documentaries, including educational content and classic cinema, for students and educators.
This collection of films covers a broad range of streaming video titles for educational purposes, including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, training films, and full-length feature films. Kanopy includes films from a wide range of content providers, including New Day Films, PBS, the Criterion Channel, Kino Lorber, and Documentary Educational Resources.