Coordinator of Electronic Resources & Discovery
Purpose of this Dashboard
Created by the Collections Strategies & Services (CSS) Division at the University of Dayton's Roesch Library, this E-Resources Usage Dashboard project aims to provide an in-depth summary of how UD's electronic holdings are being used by faculty, students, and staff. Through this summary we hope to inform the services delivered by library faculty and staff in the areas of reference, research consultations, and library instruction sessions. Simply put, knowing how our collections are being used helps us to better understand the needs and preferences of our patrons. Any questions can be directed to Simon Robins (srobins1@udayton.edu).
Key Trends for FY22
- Databases: UD provides access to 390 databases. Some of these databases provide direct access to full-text content, while others provide links to full text externally. Due to this variation, the visual below measures the number of searches (rather than downloads) in each platform, highlighting the most heavily used.* Explore the following page to learn more and view additional metrics: https://libguides.udayton.edu/e-resources-usage-dashboard/popular-databases.
- In FY22, EBSCO databases saw far more searches than any other library database, by a really wide margin:
*The above visual does not include every database/platform. Two factors determined inclusion: overall usage and COUNTER compliance. If a platform was not heavily used (for example, if it received less than 100 searches or 100 downloads in a FY, then it was not included. Likewise, if the usage was low and the platform does use COUNTER-compliant statistics, then it was also excluded). Some platforms with high search counts but are not COUNTER-compliant were still included.
- Downloads of articles, ebooks, online news and more: Certain platforms saw a tremendous spike in usage. We see this as a rebound from the pandemic decreases when everyone was outside of our IP ranges. Examples of this trend include scholarly article platforms such as ScienceDirect and JSTOR or usage of the New York Times
- Scholarly articles (peer-reviewed content) was the most heavily used content format:
