COUNTER: COUNTER provides the Code of Practice that enables publishers and vendors to report usage of their electronic resources in a consistent way. This enables libraries to compare data received from different publishers and vendors. This dashboard reports data using the most recent Code of Practice, Release 5. http://www.projectcounter.org/
Database: An organized collection of structured information (data) with a search function to discover and access content housed in the resource.
PR: The COUNTER 5 Platform Master Report. As defined by COUNTER: "A customizable report summarizing activity across a content provider’s platforms that allows the user to apply filters and select other configuration options." (source: https://cop5.projectcounter.org/en/5.0.2/04-reports/01-platform-reports.html)
FY: Stands for "fiscal year." UD’s fiscal year is from July 1-July 30. We gather statistics for fiscal years rather than calendar years.
IP: Access is granted to nearly all of our electronic resources through IP (Internet Protocol) addresses through authentication. When on UD's campus, authentication happens automatically; if off-campus, students/faculty/staff can authenticate using their campus-wide login (via a proxy server).
LibInsight: The vast majority of data visualized in this dashboard was gathered in LibInsight, a tool offered by Springshare for recording and analyzing library statistics and data points. It enables storage of COUNTER 5 data from hundreds of subscriptions in a single platform. Definition of tool was adapted from https://springshare.com/libinsight/.
TR_B1: The COUNTER 5 Book Report. As defined by COUNTER: "Reports on full-text activity for books, excluding Gold Open Access content, as Total_Item_Requests and Unique_Title_Requests. The Unique_Title_Requests provides comparable usage across book platforms. The Total_Item_Requests shows overall activity; however, numbers between sites will vary significantly based on how the content is delivered (e.g. delivered as a complete book or by chapter)." (source: https://cop5.projectcounter.org/en/5.0.2/04-reports/03-title-reports.html)
TR_J1: The COUNTER 5 Journal Report. As defined by COUNTER: "Reports on usage of journal content, excluding Gold Open Access content, as Total_Item_Requests and Unique_Item_Requests. The Unique_Item_Requests provides comparable usage across journal platforms by reducing the inflationary effect that occurs when an HTML full text automatically displays and the user then accesses the PDF version. The Total_Item_Requests shows overall activity." (source: https://cop5.projectcounter.org/en/5.0.2/04-reports/03-title-reports.html)
SUSHI: Stands for the Standardized Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative. It is a protocol that allows for automated retrieval (harvesting) of COUNTER-compliant usage data through a third party (in the case of this dashboard, the third party being LibInsight). SUSHI was developed by the National Information Standards Organization (NISO).
Collections Specialist Scott West was instrumental in gathering the data for the hundreds of different resources visualized in this dashboard.
