Library Guides: IET 317: Appiah-Kubi: Standards

Standards

What are Technical Standards?

Technical standards are agreed upon ways of manufacturing items. Standards are the reason that we have compatibility among similar products from different manufacturers (E.g. the reason that your USB stick works in your computer regardless of who made it). Standards can be superseded or canceled and they are listed by their originating organization (such as ASTM). Standards tend to be expensive and different academic institutions may have different subscriptions to standards. Standards can be tricky to locate so don't hesitate to contact your engineering librarian for assistance.

ASTM Compass
A comprehensive database offering access to standards, specifications, and technical documents from ASTM International, supporting research and compliance in materials and engineering.
Formerly known as American Society for Testing and Materials, ASTM International develops and delivers voluntary consensus standards to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. ASTM Compass is the repository for industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes the Book of Standards, research reports, journals, manuals, monographs, technical papers and reports, data series, and market intelligence reports. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Topics covered include Fatigue and Fracture Mechanics, Guide for Sampling and Analysis, Metallography and Resinography, Testing of Metallic and Inorganic Coatings, Performance and Durability of Building Sealants, and more.
IEEE Xplore
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, including journals, conference papers, and standards.
This digital platform provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Included are more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences. Content comprises research articles, conference papers, technical standards, transactions, journals and magazines, books and book chapters, and online educational courses. Via IEEE Xplore, the IEEE Journal Archive provides full-text perpetual access to more than 100 years of IEEE legacy content from leading IEEE journals and magazines published between 1884 and 1999. In addition to current IEEE conference proceedings, users have access to the IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive Complete Set, covering 1936 to 1999.

SAI Global Standards Database
This tool can be used to do broad subject searches or to find a particular standard number or standards regarding a specific subject. It does not provide full text access to standards. For this, you will have to search the other standards resources available at the University of Dayton.
TechStreet
Indexes global collections of industry codes and standards. Descriptions are free, but full-text is not. Full text may available in a UD database.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)Standards
OSHA's mission is to ensure that employees work in a safe and healthful environment by setting and enforcing standards.