Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Web Archiving Program

About the Marian Library

The Marian Library was founded by the Marianists of the University of Dayton in 1943 to make the Blessed Virgin Mary better known, loved, and served. Its presence on campus is a significant expression of the University’s Catholic and Marianist identity. The Marian Library is recognized nationally and internationally as a center for scholarship on the Blessed Virgin Mary. It serves the research needs of faculty and students of the International Marian Research Institute, the broader University of Dayton community, and visitors throughout the world. It also documents diverse expressions of popular devotion to Mary. 

The Marian Library’s unique collections are developed and maintained to preserve and provide access to materials that foster Marian scholarship and sound Marian devotion. The web archiving program will help us continue to fulfill our mission by allowing us to collect, preserve, and provide access to online content related to the Blessed Virgin Mary. 

For more about the Marian Library/International Marian Research Institute please visit the website of the International Marian Research Institute.

For more about the Marian Library's archival collections, please visit the Marian Library Archives and Special Collections guide. 

Collecting Scope

The Marian Library selects content for inclusion in the web archive based on the Collection Development and Management Policy, as well as any resource constraints. Examples of content collected are:

  • Web resources that document the history of Marian scholarship and devotion and other topics related to the Blessed Virgin Mary not being collected elsewhere. 
  • Web resources that complement existing archival and special research collections. View a list of archival collections. 
  • Websites associated with organizations for which the Marian Library serves as a Designated Repository (for example, the Mariological Society of America).

Due to resource constraints, permissions, and scope not everything can be harvested. If you would like to recommend a website for archiving, please contact the Marian Library. 

chat loading...