Skip to main content
Libraries Research Guides

Marian Library Archives and Special Collections: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the University of Dayton Libraries' guide to Marian Library Archives and Special Collections. Click on the tabs above or links below to explore the many resources available to support the information needs of students and faculty.

About the Marian Library

The Marian Library was founded by the Marianists of the University of Dayton in 1943 to make the Blessed Virgin Mary better known, loved, and served. It is a special library whose presence on campus is a significant expression of the university's Catholic and Marianist identity. Its collections are developed and maintained to preserve and provide access to materials that support its mission of fostering Marian scholarship and sound Marian devotion.  

The Marian Library is recognized both nationally and internationally as a center for scholarship on the Blessed Virgin Mary. It serves the research needs of faculty and students of the International Marian Research Institute and of the broader University of Dayton community, and of visitors throughout the world. It also documents the diverse expressions of popular devotion to Mary, and provides public outreach through exhibits, tours, reference services, and its website, All About Mary

The library’s holdings include circulating books, periodicals, rare books and incunabula, artwork, and archival materials. The collections document the history, spirituality, and ecclesial foundations of Marian studies. As devotions to Mary are present in cultural traditions around the world, the collection is international in scope and includes materials in over one hundred languages. 

Contact Us


Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30-4:30
Email: mlimri@udayton.edu
Phone: 937.229.4214

Contact Me

Kayla Harris's picture
Kayla Harris
Contact:
300 College Park Ave
Dayton, OH 45469
(937) 229-1347
chat loading...