Religion Databases -- Start Here
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 2500 indexed journals. Content includes articles, essays from books, & book reviews on topics like Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Bible in English This link opens in a new window
Contains twenty-one versions of the Bible in full text, from the 10th to the 20th centuries: The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars. - Catholic News Archive This link opens in a new window
This Catholic news resource contains thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years. Holdings start in 1832 and continue to the present day. - Catholic Portal This link opens in a new window
The Catholic Portal provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources. - New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. More than 1100 journals are indexed.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes access to more than 100 full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
More databases
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic version of the complete print edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. - America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Full text is an option where available.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index - 1975-Present This link opens in a new window
This Web of Science resource indexes 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals starting in 1975. - Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans This link opens in a new window
Contains information about life in 17th and 18th century America, including agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, and witchcraft. Content from the bibliography of Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from the beginning of printing in England (1473) through 1700.
- PASCAL & FRANCIS Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new window
These indices provide access to more than 20 millions references (articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports and thesis) in exact sciences and technology, in biological and medical sciences, in art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Holdings run from 1972 to 2015 and full text is identified when available. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. This includes full-text journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.
- Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and articles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). (Formally known as Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center This link opens in a new window
Full text doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and undergraduate honors theses from Ohio colleges and universities, including the University of Dayton. Users may search the full text of these publications or browse by institution, department, or author. - Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The complete Patrologia Latina is included with all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. More than 1800 indexed journals covering all fields of philosophy and related disciplines and features research published since 1940. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities with coverage from 1861. Also includes abstracts, 24 page previews, & the option to purchase the full text.
Print Guide to Periodical Literature
Religious and theological abstracts (1958-2008). Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.
