Corporate Accountability Tools
- Corporate Research ProjectThe Corporate Research Project is a non-profit research organization that identifies information related to corporate accountability and provides reports and data on corporate misconduct.
- CorpWatchThrough investigative research and journalism, CorpWatch provides critical information on corporate malfeasance and works to promote environmental, social and human rights at the local, national and global levels.
Business Librarian
Corporate Sustainability Reports
Although climate-related disclosures are not yet required in SEC filings, many companies already include relevant information in their 10-K filings and publish sustainability reports on their investor relations websites. Sustainability reports can also be found using directories and aggregated lists, some of which are listed below.
Company Websites & Filings
Public companies' investor relations webpages provide access to company reports - including its annual report, or 10-K, and quarterly filings (10-Q). While not yet required, 10-K reports often include disclosures or narrative information related to sustainability. Some companies also provide sustainability-specific reports or webpages discussing their efforts towards climate change, DEI, and other CSR-related topics.
A simple Google search for the company name + "investor relations" can help you locate these resources on a company website.
Tips for Searching the 10-K (from ACRL-BRASS)
- Company statements related to social and environmental efforts often appear under "Part 1, Item 1: Business," section of the 10-K, which addresses the company's operations.
- Social and governance efforts may appear under headings such as "Human Capital Management," "Culture," 'Diversity, Equity and Inclusion," or "Equity, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion."
- Statements and updates related to the company's environmental consciousness may appear under headings such as "Sustainability" or "Environmental Matters."
- Words and phrases for searching environmental efforts and issues within a 10-K include: "environmental," "pollution", "emissions," "energy," "sustainability," "recycling."
- Words and phrases for searching social efforts and issues include: "equity," "equality," "diversity," "inclusion," "social justice," "gender," "race" "DE&I," EED&I".
Sustainability Report Directories and Databases
- B Corporation Directory
Directory of all companies that are certified B Corporations; includes environmental impact scores for each. - Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)
Environmental reporting database containing comprehensive data submitted by over 23,000 companies. Requires free account; search by company name to view reports. - Corporate RegisterGlobal directory of CSR reports from 28,000 companies. Requires registration with a .edu email address.
Sustainability Rankings
- Corporate Knights RankingsCorporate Knights Inc.is sustainable-economy media and research B Corp that produces global sustainability rankings, research reports, and financial product ratings based on corporate sustainability performance.
- 3BL Best Corporate Citizens3BL's annual rating and ranking of large, publicly traded U.S. companies based on fundamental environmental, social and governance (ESG) transparency.
