Construction Market
- Building Permits Survey (BPS)The Building Permits Survey (BPS) provides national, state, and local statistics on the number and valuation of new privately-owned housing units authorized by building permits in the United States.
- Construction SpendingMonthly estimates of the total dollar value of construction work done each month on new structures or improvements to existing structures for private and public sectors in the U.S.
Your Librarian
Market & Consumer Research and Data
This page lists reputable sources of information about consumer behavior, demographics, and market activity in the real estate and housing markets. In the sections below you will find:
- Key Library Resources: Top databases at Roesch Library for Market & Consumer Research
- Demographics & Consumer Research: Selected government and non-partisan research sources of data about populations, community characteristics, and consumer behavior
- Real Estate & Housing Markets: Federal government and professional association research data about housing, economic factors impacting the residential real estate and housing markets, mortgage market trends, and commercial real estate statistics
- Neighborhoods & Communities: Research focused on community livability and neighborhood characteristics
- Financial Indices: Home Price Indices that track real estate prices, value, and financing
Key Library Resources
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets of Census data. Search by zip code, county, city, or state in the Demographic Profiles section to find market-specific demographic reports. - Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Analyzes market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes & purchasing habits for the US and European marketplaces. Filter by Demographics to see a wide array of reports and insights about different populations. - Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide array of statistical data and reports about industries and consumer groups. Search by industry or demographic keyword.
Demographics & Consumer Research
- American Community Survey (ACS)The American Community Survey (ACS) is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
- American Housing Survey (AHS)The American Housing Survey (AHS) is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. Planners, policy makers, and community stakeholders use the results of the AHS to assess the housing needs of communities and the country. These statistics inform decisions that affect the housing opportunities for people of all income levels, ages, and racial and ethnic groups.
- Freddie Mac Consumer Research ReportsFreddie Mac was chartered by Congress in 1970 to support the U.S. housing finance system and to help ensure a reliable and affordable supply of mortgage funds across the country.
- Pew Research Center: Homeownership & RentingFounded by the Pew Research Center, this website provides various demographic and report data about homeownership & renting in the US.
Real Estate & Housing Markets
- Commercial Real Estate ReportsPublished by the National Association of Realtors. Provides timely market updates, case-studies on various vacant space conversions, measurement of foreign investment, and more
- Federal Housing Finance AgencyFHFA economists conduct research on topics in housing finance, with focus on housing trends in house prices, housing market conditions, and mortgage lending activity.
- Freddie Mac Housing and Economic ResearchOriginal research and analysis on housing trends, the economy and the mortgage market.
- HUD U.S. Housing Market ConditionsThe USHMC website contains all the national, regional, state, metropolitan, and local data and analysis in one location. You may search by geography to obtain all the reports available for a particular area. Alternatively, you may search by the type of report. Each report contains different levels of data and/or analysis.
- National Association of Realtors - Research & StatisticsProvides housing statistics, research reports, and state & metro area data about housing and real estate.
- U.S. Census Bureau - HousingA wide range of data on the size, age and type of American homes; home values, rents and mortgages, the housing and construction industry, and more.
Financial Indices
- S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price IndicesLeading measures of U.S. residential real estate prices, tracking changes in the value of residential real estate both nationally as well as in 20 metropolitan regions.
- House Price Index (HPI)From the U.S. Federal Housing Finance Agency; a broad measure of the movement of single-family house prices. Provides a weighted, repeat-sales index, measuring average price changes in repeat sales or refinancings on the same properties.
- Fannie Mae Home Price IndexThe Fannie Mae Home Price Index (FNM-HPI) is a national, repeat-transaction home price index measuring the average, quarterly price change for all single-family properties in the United States, excluding condos.
Neighborhoods & Communities
- AARP Livability IndexThe AARP Livability Index scores every neighborhood and community in the United States for the services and amenities that affect people’s lives, analyzing how well a community supports its members in seven critical categories: housing, neighborhood, transportation, environment, health, engagement, and opportunity.
- American Community Survey (ACS)The American Community Survey (ACS) is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
