Library Guides: GIS: Library Resources

Library Databases

The following library databases are offered to our UD community centering on GIS.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps, data visuallizations, and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790-2010. Additional data available up to the 2020 census.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef contains more than 3500 indexed journals covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature. Other records featured within the database include indexed books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Coverage within the database includes the geology of North America from 1666 to the present, as well as global coverage dating back to 1933.
USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
This repository of the United States Geological Survey provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Landsat Image Gallery This link opens in a new window
Provides satellite imagery of the Earth's surface from NASA's LANDSAT satellite. Urban growth, natural resources, and crop health are a few of the issues that may be monitored with this data. Images archived back to 1972.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.