Library Guides: Female Aspiring Business Scholars Summer Program: Economics

Economic Trends & Conditions

Find data, information, and reports about current U.S. and global economic conditions.

BEA Data by Topic
Data about the U.S. economy organized by variable or topic.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Trusted source for economic data. Download, graph, and track 817,000 US and international time series from 108 sources.
globalEDGE
Statistical data for 202 countries around the world, including key economic indicators and variables.
U.S. Economy at a Glance: BLS
National and state-level data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, including unemployment, payroll and earnings information, and price indices.

Competitiveness & Industry Conditions

Find information about the competitive landscape of your industry and the economic variables affecting supply and demand.

IBISWorld
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Find information about economic impacts in the Industry Performance, Products & Markets, and Competitive Landscape sections of industry profiles.
This industry research database contains reports on industries in the China, Global, and U.S. markets. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, US Industry State Reports, US State Economic Profiles, US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, US Business Environment Profiles, and US Business Environment State Profiles. Global industry reports are strong in the manufacturing sector. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Statistics include financial ratios and industry averages from the Risk Management Association.
NetAdvantage
On the Industry Surveys page, select an industry from the dropdown menu to see available industry reports. Each report will include information about important US and global economic trends impacting the industry.
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
globalEDGE
A comprehensive source of information and tools for international business research, including country insights, industry analyses, and market information from 1000s of sources.
A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Features include trade statistics, rankings of corporations by country/region, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness. This platform was created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), and is partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program).

BEA Industry Facts
Find industry overviews and detailed economic data for industry groups. The Data Table tab on industry pages includes links to detailed information about each indicator.

Economic News & Reports

Find articles and analysis about current economic conditions that impact your industry and consumers.

Beige Book
The Beige Book is a report published 8 times a year by the Federal Reserve, providing economists' commentary on economic trends in their districts.
The Economics Daily
Published daily by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, providing current information and insights about one or two specific current activities in the US economy.

EconLit
A library database including articles from news sources, scholarly journals, and other periodicals focused on economics.
Produced by the American Economic Association (AEA), this academic literature abstracting database indexes scholarly English language journals, dissertations, working papers, and books in the field of economics. It encompasses a variety of subjects, including capital markets, county studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. EconLit covers material dating back to 1969 and includes the full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. This is the electronic continuation of the print publication "Journal of Economic Abstracts."
Business Source Complete
A library database including articles from news sources, scholarly journals, and other periodicals focused on various topics in business.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

Library Database Search Tips:

Use Advanced Search to see all the options available to you
Search for a specific trend or economic variable
Search for the industry in which your business idea might operate
Use the 'date' filter to narrow your results to recent articles