Library Guides: Female Aspiring Business Scholars Summer Program: Entrepreneurship and Management

Entrepreneurship and Management Articles

Learn about business models, mission statements, leadership, and company culture from articles and insights about key topics in entrepreneurship and management.

eCorner
Stanford University's online publication with content for entrepreneurs of all kinds.
MIT Sloan Management Review
Articles and insights about current topics in management, which typically provide links to related studies and information.
Harvard Business School Working Knowledge
New research and ideas on business management. Articles can be filtered by topic and industry.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
A library database focused on topics relevant to entrepreneurship, providing articles, books, videos, and company profiles.
This collection of full-text resources for entrepreneurship and small business research provides access to peer-reviewed journals and magazines, reference books, company profiles, and videos with transcripts. Subjects include business planning, communications, innovations, management, marketing, organizational behavior, product development, raising capital, and risk taking. The Faculty Seminar Series features the work and research of prominent professors and experts from Harvard Business School. Topics include the cast method, communications, ethics, finance and accounting, global business, innovation and entrepreneurship, sales and marketing, strategy and more.
Small Business Source
A library database including articles from publications focused on small business, videos, and business planning resources.
This resource offers full-text for top consumer small business reference books and tools to understand and address a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans. Many of the full-text reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Business videos include interviews, lessons learned, lectures and how-to tips to foster success in all aspects of managing a business. Subjects include starting and growing a business; writing a business plan; marketing a business; managing employees; going green; conducting business on the internet; understanding legal information; and selling a business.
Business Source Complete
A library database including articles from news sources, scholarly journals, and other periodicals focused on various topics in business.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

Business Model Resources

Find industry and market information that can inform your business model and organizational structure.

SBA: Common Business Structures
Information about business structures from the U.S. Small Business Administration
O*Net Online
Job descriptions and summaries of occupations across industries, including traits, skills, and other criteria important for recruitment and hiring plans.

IBISWorld
Industry reports are an excellent source of information about key resources, partnerships, activities, and resources for companies.
This industry research database contains reports on industries in the China, Global, and U.S. markets. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, US Industry State Reports, US State Economic Profiles, US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, US Business Environment Profiles, and US Business Environment State Profiles. Global industry reports are strong in the manufacturing sector. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Statistics include financial ratios and industry averages from the Risk Management Association.