Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sometimes, issues arise as we work with authors to put their content on the repository. Here are some issues and solutions and tidbits of wisdom we've learned over time.
- You didn't save your postprint: Are you sure? Look again. Try file cabinets, too. If you only have a hard copy … that’s OK. We can scan it.
- From this point forward: Always save your postprints. Also, save your copyright transfer agreement … and don’t forget to retain the right to archive your postprint in an institutional repository.
- Better yet: Get your paper into the repository as soon as it’s accepted for publication.
- Retaining the right to archive: Ask for it on your copyright transfer agreement. Publishers are more receptive to granting it as open access gains more footing; it brings attention to their journals, too.
- Granting permission: We need permission from you to put your research on eCommons. Here’s a permission form. You can use one for a whole list of past publications and a new one for every time you have a new paper accepted. You can also just send an email granting us permission to archive your work in eCommons.
Open Access Fund
Check out these sample sites
From the launch of eCommons in October 2013 to the summer of 2019, we've logged more than 1 million downloads. Check out some of the ways we can present information.
Exhibit archive: Imprints and Impressions: Milestones in Human Progress
This faculty-selected exhibit featured rare and near-priceless first editions, manuscripts, galley proofs, papyri and illustrations spanning the scholarly spectrum from philosophy to physics. The exhibit archive contains photographs, commentaries and supplemental media.
Sample of a faculty member's publication
Here's a paper from Anne Crecelius, assistant professor in the health and sport science department of the School of Education and Health Sciences.
Line by Line: An open-access UD journal
This online journal of beginning student writing launched at UD in the spring of 2014.
Lab samples: Geology
This gallery of 360-degree views of mineral samples has gotten a lot of attention from other institutions in the Digital Commons Network. It allows 24-hour access to samples that students previously could only view in the lab.
Conference/event: The Social Practice of Human Rights
Every two years, the University of Dayton Human Rights Center presents this conference as an opportunity to foster scholar-practitioner collaboration, interdisciplinary dialogue, and critical introspection of human rights advocacy.
Publication archive: HonorsLINK newsletter
Here's a sampling of how we can display publications. This one features the Honors Program's HonorsLINK newsletter.
Newsletter: Past ... and Future
Here's the permanent archive of the history department's newsletter.
Music, poetry and performance together: the Dunbar Music Archive
This archive, assembled principally by Minnita Daniel-Cox, assistant professor of music, features musical settings for and readings of the poetry of Paul Laurence Dunbar.