Library Guides: Communication: Data

Data Sources

Statista
An extensive statistics platform providing data, reports, and charts, using data from market reports, government data services, and trade & research organizations, offering data-driven insights across industries, markets, and consumer trends.

At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.
SageData
A repository of structured data from over 550 sources, enabling users to create custom visualizations and access extensive datasets across various topics.

A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Note: access is available for content that predates 12/31/21; any content from 01/01/2022 - present is unavailable.
ICPSR
A data archive offering access to social science research data, with datasets for in-depth study.

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains an archive of quantitative social science data for research and instruction. Since 1962, ICPSR has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. It covers a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Major datasets in ICPSR include the General Social Survey, World and European Values Survey, American National Election Studies, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Health and Medical Care Archive, the International Archive of Education Data, and many more.
Data Commons
A platform providing access to U.S. government datasets on topics like demographics, economics, health, and the environment, supporting research and analysis with visual tools.

Data Commons is an open-source platform created by Google that provides access to a vast knowledge graph combining economic, scientific, and public datasets. It offers a unified view of information from sources like the United Nations, U.S. Census, World Bank, and Wikipedia. The database covers a wide range of topics, including demographics, economics, health, climate, and more, with over 240 billion data points across 260,000 variables. Users can access data from 193 countries, 110,000 cities, and 5,000 states and provinces. The platform utilizes Linked Open Data technologies and provides APIs for easy data integration and analysis. Data Commons emphasizes statistical data representation and includes tools for visualization, natural language queries, and data exploration. It serves as a valuable resource for researchers, policymakers, journalists, and anyone interested in accessing and analyzing public data to address societal challenges.