Online Catalogs
University of Dayton catalog: Holdings of Roesch Library, Marian Library, University Archives and Special Collections, U.S. Catholic Special Collection, Law Library
eCommons: Access to the University Libraries' digital collections.
University of Dayton Archives Catalog: Access to UD's archival finding aids from the Marian Library, University Archives and Special Collections, and the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
OhioLINK catalog: Holdings from the participating academic libraries of the OhioLINK consortium
WorldCat: Holdings from participating libraries (academic, public, special, and more) from across the United States, Canada, and other parts of the world.
ArchiveGrid: Includes over four million records from over 1,000 archival repositories. Much of the content is the same as WorldCat, but it may help you streamline your search for archival records.
Primary Source Databases
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic version of the complete print edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. - Bible in English This link opens in a new window
Contains twenty-one versions of the Bible in full text, from the 10th to the 20th centuries: The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars. - Catholic News Archive This link opens in a new window
This Catholic news resource contains thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years. Holdings start in 1832 and continue to the present day. - Catholic Portal This link opens in a new window
The Catholic Portal provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources. - Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new window
Contains theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other key documents from the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries. Content includes more than 845 tiles by 270+ authors. - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Greek and Latin classics with up-to-date texts and English translations. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. - Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The complete Patrologia Latina is included with all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
More Databases
- New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the entire run of the New York Times from 1851 to almost the present day. Search capability available using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. - Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans This link opens in a new window
Contains information about life in 17th and 18th century America, including agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, and witchcraft. Content from the bibliography of Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from the beginning of printing in England (1473) through 1700. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. - Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 is drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed nineteenth century bibliography Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Book relating to America from its Discovery to the Present Time. This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian age of periodicals and beyond with coverage dates of 1680s to 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. - Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
A multilingual collection of primary sources focused on historical economics, political science, & sociology of Europe. Contains books, journals, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, & proclamations. Holdings range from 1450 to the 20th century.
Newspapers on microfilm
These items are on the 2nd floor of Roesch Library. Readers and printers are available nearby.
Catholic Telegraph, 1831—present
Dayton Daily News, 1898-present
National Catholic Reporter, 1964-present
