Religious Studies Graduate Students

This collection of documents recounts the exemplary lives, deaths, miracles, and other deeds of saints of the Roman Catholic Church, as well as major historical moments in their subsequent veneration, providing a principal source for research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and Medieval Europe. These texts were published over a period of 300 (1643 to 1940) years by the Société des Bollandistes.

This collection contains 21 versions of the Bible in full text, from the 10th to the 20th centuries. The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars.

This full-text searchable newspaper database includes Catholic publications from around the United States from 1832 to the present. In addition to newspapers with a national perspective, there are also newspapers from the diocese of Pittsburgh and the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, Newark, Saint Louis, Harford, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia, and San Francisco. The Archive is a project of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA), an alliance of archives and libraries collaborating in support of the mission to provide access to Catholic research resources.

This resource provides access to rare, unique, and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections, and archives. Formats include manuscripts, books, ephemera, photographs, and artifacts. Collecting themes include Catholic Diocesan Collections, including papers of bishops; Catholic Education; Catholic Intellectual Life; Catholic Literary Figures; Catholic Liturgy & Devotion; Catholic Men's Religious Orders; Catholic Missions; Catholic Peacebuilding; Catholic Social Action; Catholic Women's Religious Orders; Catholicism & Citizenship; and Vatican II.

The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (DLCR) is an online collection that provides access to a rich array of texts authored by Catholic figures during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, a pivotal period marked by significant internal reform within the Church. This collection includes writings that reflect the Church's responses to the Protestant Reformation, addressing issues such as clergy conduct, fiscal abuses, and religious education. Edited by scholars Simon Ditchfield and Brad Gregory, the DLCR features a diverse range of materials that encompass moral, theological, and disciplinary reforms. The database aims to facilitate scholarly research by making these historical texts readily accessible to researchers and the public. It serves as a vital resource for understanding the complexities of Catholic thought and practice during a transformative era in religious history, contributing to the broader discourse on Christianity and its evolution.

Founded by James Loeb in 1911 to place the written treasures of the Greek and Roman past within the reach of all interested readers, the Loeb Classical Library has for more than a century produced its iconic green and red editions of ancient masterworks in a convenient, affordable, and accessible format. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; satire and the novel; history, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations, both in print and online. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies, and the series is continually revised and updated in light of modern scholarship. Browse by author's name, Greek works, Latin works, and Loeb volumes.

The Patrologia Latina is a comprehensive online database that provides access to the complete works of the Latin Church Fathers, compiled by Jacques-Paul Migne in the 19th century. This extensive collection encompasses 221 volumes, covering writings from approximately 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database includes original texts, prefatory material, critical apparatus, and indexes, allowing users to explore significant theological, philosophical, and historical works from early Christianity. It features major figures such as Augustine, Jerome, and Ambrose, and provides Migne's column numbers for scholarly reference. Users can perform advanced searches across the entire corpus or browse individual works, facilitating in-depth research into patristic literature. The platform also supports cross-searching with related databases, enhancing its utility for scholars and students engaged in the study of medieval theology and ecclesiastical history.

This historical newspaper collection provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society, and events covering 1851-2020. Search historical local, regional, national, and international news using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

This digitized collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Find information about life in early America, including agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, and witchcraft. This collection is derived from Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography and includes the 36,000+ works found in the microform edition plus 1,000+ additional digitized works. This collection contains a wide variety of publication types, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties.

This full-text database includes nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from the beginning of printing in England (1473) through 1700. Search for e-books and e-texts by author, title, keyword, or illustrations. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product. Subject coverage includes English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, religion, politics, and government. The four collections in EEBO are: 1. Early English Books I, 1473-1640, containing great classics such as Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales" and Shakespeare dramas; 2. Early English Books II, 1641-1700, spanning the English Civil War, the Interregnum, and the Restoration, and includes books by Newton, Boyle, and Galileo; 3. Thomason Tracts, 1640-1661, featuring speeches made in Parliament, gossip from or about the court, sermons and political diatribes, and news reports detailing accounts of battles, negotiations, and political machinations; and 4. Early English Books Tract Supplement, consisting of proclamations, letters, petitions, ballads, Church of England pamphlets and sermons, almanacs, auction catalogs, and so much more.

This database provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL). It contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Each issue is digitized and searchable from cover to cover, including all articles, advertisements, illustrations, editorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, and other types of content. Subject coverage includes history, literature, history of science & medicine, law, news & magazines, politics, religion, education, women's studies, art, and American studies.

This collection is drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed nineteenth century bibliography "Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time". This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this collection highlights the social, political, and religious beliefs, culture, and contemporary opinions through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, and first-hand documentation of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, westward movement, Native Americans, and military actions.

This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century to the early 21st century. All content is available in full-page image with searchable full-text. Subject coverage includes The Periodical Press, Victorian periodicals, popular culture, literary journalism and criticism, politics, political science, and political satire, serial fiction and serialized novels, slavery and anti-slavery movements, temperance, religion and theology, book reviews, science, economics, sports, theatre/theater and drama, English, Scottish, and Irish literature, women's literature, and more. Major titles include All the Year Round, The Edinburgh Review, Gentleman’s Magazine, Quarterly Review, and The Tatler.

This multilingual collection of primary sources covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations. The collection is broken into three parts which can be searched together or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850; Part II: 1851-1914; Part III: 1890-1945.