Library Guides: How Do I Find?: Newspaper Articles

Find a Newspaper

Newspaper Map

Use Newspaper Map to see if a city or town has online access to a current or historical newspaper.

U.S.-based Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles and transcripts from a wide range of national & international news sources, covering diverse topics and current events for research & reference. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides full-text for more than 500 regional, national, and international newspapers, plus full-text television and radio news transcripts from organizations including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the New York Times, providing citation information and access to articles, enabling users to efficiently locate news and features from the publication.
This historical newspaper collection provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society, and events covering 1851-2020. Search historical local, regional, national, and international news using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
A digital archive providing access to historical African American newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries, offering insights into the Black experience and cultural history.
This fully-searchable collection of 280+ historical newspapers from across the United States published by and for African Americans is a one-of-a-kind record of African American history and culture. Each newspaper issue in this collection has been fully digitized and is fully searchable, including all articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations. Some of the major titles in the collection include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L’Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, and The Appeal (MN). The oldest newspaper dates to 1842. Try the new Text Explorer to visualize data using methods such as term clustering, frequencies, trends, and more.

GoogleNews
Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world by Google News

International Newspaper Sources

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles and transcripts from a wide range of national & international news sources, covering diverse topics and current events for research & reference. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database provides full-text for more than 500 regional, national, and international newspapers, plus full-text television and radio news transcripts from organizations including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
A digital collection providing access to historical newspapers from Latin America, covering the 19th and early 20th centuries, supporting research on Latin American history and culture.
This resource contains 56 historical Latin American newspapers from North, Central, and South America, and the Caribbean, spanning 1805 to 1922. Publications are provided in either Spanish, English, and Portuguese. Content includes all articles, illustrations, and advertisements, and may be searched at once or browsed by country, time period, language, or publication title. This collection was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) using materials from newspaper repositories from around the world.
African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Access a range of historical African newspapers, offering insights into the continent's social, political, and cultural history from the 19th and 20th centuries.
This is a collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Africa. There are 67 titles available from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Soa Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. English is the most common publication language but others such as Portuguese, Zulu, Tswana, Sotho, Southern Sotho, Gujarati, Hindi, Tamil, Afrikaans, German, Tonga, French, Malagasy, and Xhosa are also available. Coverage spans from 1800 to 1924.