Library Guides: How Do I Find?: Book & Movie Reviews

Find Book Reviews Online

Academic Search Complete
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. On May 13, this EBSCO database switched to a new interface. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
Literary Reference Plus
Access literary criticism, author biographies, and thematic analyses of literary works, supporting research, and scholarship in literature, cultural studies, and related fields. On May 13, this EBSCO database switched to a new interface. Learn more.
This full-text literary database provides a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical analysis essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. Additionally, the database includes author interviews, full-text e-books, book reviews, critical analysis essays about popular young adult and children's literature titles, and 190+ "Critical Insights" volumes. This resource includes volumes of fantasy and science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
JSTOR
A digital library with over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in diverse fields, ideal for research and scholarly exploration.
This archive is a collection of over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, e-books, periodicals, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse subject areas including Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.

Find Movie Reviews Online

Need help choosing a movie to research? Check out these resources.

New York Times' Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made
Browse this list for movie titles that are popular among critics (which means there will probably be numerous articles written on them.)
Criterion Collection Store
Any film that makes it into the Criterion Collection is considered a masterpiece - many titles will have substantial reviews or scholarly articles written on them.

Academic Search Complete
In Advanced Search, enter the title of a movie (use quotes if the title is more than one word) and select "PS - Reviews & Products" in the drop-down menu next to the search box. Click Search.
There is also a Limiter on the Advanced Search page that also helps with locating movie reviews. See Document Type=Entertainment Review
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Scholarly articles, industry news, and reviews in film and television studies, including full-text content for in-depth research. On May 13, this EBSCO database switched to a new interface. Learn more.
This resource for researchers of film and television provides the most comprehensive collection of full-text from scholarly and popular sources, and spans the entire spectrum of film and television studies. This database contains all types of writing on film and TV, including academic journals, industry & trade papers, news journalism, and popular magazines. It covers a wide range of topics, such as film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It primarily includes indexing, citations, and abstracts, but it also includes some full text documents. This database is the electronic continuation of the print publication "Film Literature Index."
New York Times with Index
A comprehensive index to the New York Times, providing citation information and access to articles, enabling users to efficiently locate news and features from the publication.
This historical newspaper collection provides first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society, and events covering 1851-2020. Search historical local, regional, national, and international news using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
AFI Catalog
This database offers a comprehensive listing of American films, providing detailed information on cast, crew, production details, and film history for research and reference.
The American Film Institute Catalog is a national filmography documenting this history of American cinema, comprehensively from 1893 to 1993, and with full or short records for films produced from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present. Records include cast and crew credits, production details, and plot information and detailed notes from the AFI editorial team. Each record also includes citations to the contemporary newspapers, trade publications, and other periodicals used to glean credits and production information for the film. This database is the electronic counterpart and continuation of "American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures." Key subject coverage includes film history, movie history, cinema studies, and Hollywood.

MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
A movie review index with links to over 120,000 full-text reviews covering more than 17,000 films from international, national, and local newspapers, arts and entertainment journals, and other sources.