Library Guides: Finance: Sources for Articles & News

Articles for Finance Researchers

Finance professionals rely on both scholarly and practical information. Theory and historic data, as well as academic research, are the foundation of financial analysis. At the same time current events, including changes in laws and regulations, business practices, and the sociopolitical environment, are critically important context for financial analysis and decisions.

The resources on this page provide recommended sources of scholarly literature, professional publications, and news.

When using any information, especially that from news media and open web sources, it is important to assess its accuracy and quality before including it in your scholarly reports or professional recommendations. Use SIFT or the CRAAP test to analyze sources you use in your work.

Scholarly Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals, trade publications, company profiles, industry reports, and magazines across business disciplines. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Access literature in economics, including journal articles, books, and working papers, supporting research on economic theory and practice. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
Produced by the American Economic Association (AEA), this academic literature abstracting database indexes scholarly English language journals, dissertations, working papers, and books in the field of economics. It encompasses a variety of subjects, including capital markets, county studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. EconLit covers material dating back to 1969 and includes the full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. This is the electronic continuation of the print publication "Journal of Economic Abstracts."

News Sources

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Features information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends in this collection of current news sources, including North American and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. It covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and people and events in local communities. Search curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, and International Studies, or more specific subjects such as African American Studies, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies, Criminal Justice, Planning, Public Policy, and Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology.

Bloomberg Businessweek
Many articles also available in Business Source Complete
Financial Times
Full text access also available in Access World News

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the renowned newspaper, featuring articles, multimedia content, and archives on news, opinion, and culture from around the world.
Current access to the digital edition of the New York Times, including US and international news, politics, sports, business and economy, health, education, science and technology, opinions, and newsletters. Explore the arts section, including book reviews, pop culture, theater, movies, and television. Listen to podcasts and narrated articles covering news, tech, culture, and more. Browse cooking recipes, advice and inspiration for everyday cooking and special occasions.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City.
This business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City publishes news, information, commentary, and analysis. It includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, economy, technology, markets & finance, opinion, arts, lifestyle, real estate, personal finance, health, style, and sports. Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only. Access to the Wall Street Journal via WSJ.com includes access to video and audio content including all WSJ podcasts.