Library Guides: Finance: Industry Analysis

Getting Started with Industry Analysis

Industry profiles and reports provide a comprehensive picture of activities within and external to an industry that impact business finances and overall operations. Industry research is an important piece of macroenvironment analysis and provides context to investment and portfolio research.

Industry Analysis: Overview & Methods
A short article from the Corporate Finance Institute defining industry analysis methods.
The Complete Guide to Industry Research
From IBISWorld, a longer read about industry research and its value in different business fields.

Find Industry Profiles

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database providing comprehensive industry reports for NAICS and specialized industries, including performance metrics, product and market trends, statistics, and detailed information for competitive and external environment analysis.
This industry research database contains reports on industries in the China, Global, and U.S. markets. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, US Industry State Reports, US State Economic Profiles, US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, US Business Environment Profiles, and US Business Environment State Profiles. Global industry reports are strong in the manufacturing sector. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Statistics include financial ratios and industry averages from the Risk Management Association.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Open the Industry Surveys tab and find your industry in the Select a GICS Industry list. Industry reports are comprehensive and include references and detailed analysis.
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers

Find Industry Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
An extensive statistics platform providing data, reports, and charts, using data from market reports, government data services, and trade & research organizations, offering data-driven insights across industries, markets, and consumer trends.
At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Industry Data
Analysis of economic performance of industries, including GDP, input, output, employment, and production data
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Industry Data
Workforce, wage, and price statistics by industry.