Word Origins
Use the Oxford English Dictionary to determine when a word or term originated. The date will help potentially date the start of the inequity in question--or at least indicate when the term came into popular use. Most useful when looking at specific illnesses and diseases.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full text version of the foremost English language dictionary.
Popular Newspapers & Magazines
- New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the entire run of the New York Times from 1851 to almost the present day. - Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources, with information from 1970s to present day. - New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Current access to the digital edition of the New York Times. Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only.
- Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper that provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events from 1909-1975. - Flyer News and Campus Report (FNCR) Index This link opens in a new window
Search the University of Dayton Archives Flyer News (1955-2013) and Campus Report (1973-2014) article index. This searchable index does not include the full text of Flyer News or Campus Report articles but does link to eCommons when the issue has been digitized.
What has Congress said?
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Collection of Congressional materials, including hearings, documents, reports, committee prints, with coverage primarily from 1824 to present. Also contains the Serial Set and maps from 1789 to present.
