Library Guides: Native American and Indigenous Peoples Resources: Find Articles

Databases

North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events (from the 17th century to the present) as told by the individuals who lived through them.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of citations related to the history, culture, and contributions of Indigenous peoples in North America, including books, articles, and more.
The BIPNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America from the 16th century to the present. It contains citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada, with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Subjects include acculturation, archaeology, education, ethnohistory, economic development, folklore, the gaming industry, missions, mythology, religion, and tribal governments.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to ethnic and racial studies.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.

Journals

Journals focused on indigenous scholarship are available through Roesch Library. Some are available in print, while others are accessible electronically.