Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Databases for Your Research

Comprehensive overviews of how to search in popular databases provided by UD. Especially useful for anyone relying on these platforms for long-term research projects.

What are the aims of this guide? Who is it for?

This guide aims to support researchers with their projects and assignments by providing tips on how to search in a number of different databases. The following step-by-step tutorials will help individuals locate relevant scholarly articles on their topic, while also providing useful tips on how to conduct a literature review. Select from any of the options below to get started. Still need help? Contact a specialist in your area or schedule a consultation.

Searching tips for popular databases

Searching in APA PsycInfo (click on image icon for pdf version)Thumbnail of APA PsycINFO Handout

APA PsycINFO contains more than 3.5 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. Collections date back as far as the 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Learn more about using it for your project . . .

Note: this content applies to the EBSCO version of this database. 


Searching in CINAHL Plus (click on image icon for pdf version)Thumbnail of CINAHL Handout (click for pdf)

The main focus of the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL Plus) is nursing, along with biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In total, the EBSCO-hosted database contains nearly 4 million records, indexed from over 3,100 journals dating back to the 1930s. Learn more about using it for your project . . .

Note: this content applies to the Ebsco version of this database. 


Searching in Cochrane (click on image icon for pdf version)Thumbnail of Cochrane Handout (click for pdf)

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by the Cochrane Collaboration and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarizes and interprets the results of medical research, which are often considered the “Gold Standard” for systematic reviews in terms of quality. Learn more about using it for your project . . .


Searching in PubMed (click on image icon for pdf version)Thumbnail of PubMed Handout (click for pdf)

PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. The public database is maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information, and it offers a fairly broad overview of existing literature on a particular topic, but it should not be seen as a complete overview. The content found here applies to the public-facing version, not the version of Medline supported by Ovid. Learn more about using it for your project . . .


Searching in Web of Science (click on image icon for pdf version)Thumbnail of Web of Science Handout (click for pdf)

Web of Science provides abstracts and full text access to scientific literature. Web of Science allows you to search across several databases, including its Core Collection and other databases included in UD’s subscriptions like MEDLINE. Learn more about using it for your project . . .

chat loading...