Find It!
Sometimes a search result may not provide you direct access to an article. Click on the Find It! icon to see if/where the article is available.
If an article is available online, you will see a link/icon on the top, left side of the screen under the phrase: "Get Full Text." Click on the link/icon. A new tab will open to the service hosting the article, where you will find a PDF link.
If an article is not immediately available in print or online, you will see the message "Request this title from another library via Interlibrary Loan." You may order an article through interlibrary loan by selecting the link. A new tab will open to UD's Interlibrary Loan page. Follow the directions to login and request the article.
Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation
Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!
Recommended Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD user info to authenticate when prompted through the UD login page/Duo.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
A specialized database offering access to scholarly literature in theology and religious studies, including journal articles, essays, and book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs.
- Google ScholarCovers scholarly books and articles in all fields. Some citations include abstracts and/or links to full-text. Not always as complete or discriminating as the major disciplinary databases, but easy to use and free.
Multi-Database Search
You can search multiple databases at once. In an EBSCO database (as shown above), click Choose Databases to select resources that may be relevant to your research. NOTE that the image above is simply a picture and does not have search functionality.
Print Journals
These scholarly journals may pop up in online searches, but they're only available in print -- and they're available in the Marian Library!
Marian Library journals and periodicals do not circulate outside of the reading room, but you're welcome to use the reading room scanner to scan relevant articles.
- CommunioRequest at the Marian Library front desk. English version of the international Catholic journal.
- Ephemerides Mariologicae (Madrid)Articles in Spanish, French, English, German and Italian.
- Marianum: Ephemerides Mariologiae (Rome)Articles in Latin, French, Italian, English, and Spanish.
