Health & Life Sciences Librarian
Contact Roesch Library
What is Evidence Based Practice in Nursing?
Evidence Based Practice (you may also see "Evidence Based Medicine" or EBM) is a process of life-long, problem-based learning. According to Sackett et al., "It's about integrating individual clinical experience and the best external evidence" (1996).The process involves:
- Converting information needs into focused questions.
- Efficiently tracking down the best evidence with which to answer the question.
- Critically appraising the evidence for validity and clinical usefulness.
- Applying the results in clinical practice.
- Evaluating performance of the evidence in clinical application.
(image from the Skeptic's Guide to Emergency Medicine)
This guide provides a high-level overview of EBP, from forming a searchable clinical question to assessing your search results. Continue to the next section titled "Focusing Your Question" to learn more about using PICO to write a question that will deliver results!
Resources:
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780081012994Publication Date: 2018-01-04This book describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills.Evidence-Based Practice in Complementary and Alternative Medicine by
Call Number: Resource Available OnlineISBN: 9783642245657Publication Date: 2012-01-28This book investigates the ways in which the evidence base is influencing complementary and alternative medicine in general and Ayurveda and allied health practices in particular.
Introduction to research and medical literature for health professionals by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781284153798Publication Date: 2020From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
Top Databases for EBP in Nursing
Background Information
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive syntheses of evidence along with point of care recommendations including current drug information, medical calculators, and patient education handouts.
Systematic Reviews of the Literature
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Journal Articles
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers English-language journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes Clinical Practice Guidelines. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource offering access to a vast database of biomedical literature, including articles, clinical studies, and reviews, supporting research in health and life sciences.
