African American History

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers that promotes itself as a one-of-a-kind record of African American history and culture. The oldest newspaper dates to 1842.

Contains the non-fiction works of more than 1000 American black leaders, including speeches, leaflets, essays, interviews and transcripts. The collection includes more 100,000 pages covering 250 years of history.

This collection of poetry -- 3000 items focusing on the 18th and 19th centuries - is a product of OhioLINK's Electronic Book Center.

The full text of 12,000 works by more than 100 poets.

This is a collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Africa. There are 66 titles available from a wide variety of countries throughout the continent. English is the most common publication language but others such as Portuguese and Xhosa are also available.

This collection provides digital access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century.

This database contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

This collection is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.

This online collection of streaming video gives faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Geographic coverage includes Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania with chronological coverage back to films from 1918.

Data on the United States, including demographics, economics, government, & finance from 1790-2000.

This collection provides access to the entire run of the New York Times from 1851 to almost the present day. Search capability available using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

Note: access is available for content that predates 12/31/21; any content from 01/01/2022 - present is unavailable. A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.

This collection provides access to more than 7900 videos focusing on American history. This includes commercial, governmental, and archival footage and documentaries.