Researching an Apocalyptic Tradition
Step 1: Research different apocalyptic traditions by searching in a subject encyclopedia.
End of Days by ISBN: 9781440839405Publication Date: 2017-07-14Covering religious traditions ranging from Buddhism to Christianity to Zoroastrianism and modern apocalyptic movements such as Arun Shinrikyo and the Branch Davidians, this book addresses prophesied end of days from a breadth of perspectives and includes material on often-neglected themes and genres. * Provides readers with an overview of apocalyptic themes in the world's religious traditions as well as detailed explanations of particular apocalyptic phenomena * Places popular apocalyptic motifs within the historical context of apocalyptic literature * Enables a more complete appreciation and understanding of the presence of apocalyptic material in popular culture, literature, and fine arts * Presents information in a single volume that will serve researchers in public libraries, community college learning resource centers, and college and university libraries
Step 2: Obtain a copy of the text of your apocalyptic tradition. You can use the UD Catalog or primary source databases.
- UD Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for the title using the UD library catalog. Not here? On your results page, click "Search OhioLINK" (other academic libraries) or "SearchOhio" (public libraries). - Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Search for translations of ancient Greek or Roman apocalyptic traditions using this database.
Step 3: Search for scholarly books about your apocalyptic tradition using a keyword search in the catalog (see the link above), or by clicking on the subject tags below. You can also select books from the Bibliography on Hell created by Dr. Meghan Henning.
Step 4: Search for scholarly articles about your apocalyptic tradition using the databases below.
Try First:
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 2500 indexed journals. Content includes articles, essays from books, & book reviews on topics like Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
Then Try:
- Hermeneia: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible This link opens in a new window
A critical and historical commentary offering authoritative interpretation of the earliest texts of the biblical books and other literature closely related to the Bible. - New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. More than 1100 journals are indexed.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology.
