Contact Roesch Library
Researching a Modern Depiction of the Apocalypse
Step 1: Brainstorm, presearch and write down important information about your example.
1. Title
2. Author or artist or director or production company, etc.
3. Year published or released
IMDb example: Barbie Wikipedia: Barbie (film)
Step 2: If you are unable to stream your contemporary example, obtain a copy of your chosen text, film, show, album, etc, or search the title as a keyword to find books, book chapters, etc.
- UD Catalog This link opens in a new window
Would you like a physical copy of your chosen book, album, TV episode or movie? We might have it, or we can request it from another library. Search for the title using the UD library catalog. Not here? On your results page, click "Search OhioLINK" (other academic libraries) or "SearchOhio" (public libraries).
Step 3: Find a review or article published around the time your chosen depiction was released.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new windowSearch for reviews in UDiscover's Advanced Search. Search the title in quotes and then "review" as a keyword.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Use Access World News if you'd like more results related to reviews. This database includes additional source types, such as blogs.
Step 4: Search for scholarly treatments of your modern depiction. What themes have other scholars noticed? You may find examples in articles or books.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is focused on researchers of film and television. It provides full text resources from both scholarly and popular sources. Holdings include full-text access to more than 80 journals.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of journals in communication studies, including journalism, mass media, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, & advertising. Access provided to more than 180 full-text journals.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. It covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, and history of publishing.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
E-book: Dystopian States of America: apocalyptic visions and warnings in literature and film by
Dystopian States of America is a crucial resource that studies the impact of dystopian works on American society-including ways in which they reflect our deep and persistent fears about environmental calamities, authoritarian governments, invasive technologies, and human weakness.Dystopian States of America provides students and researchers with an illuminating resource for understanding the impact and relevance of dystopian and apocalyptic works in contemporary American culture. Through its wide survey of dystopian works in numerous forms and genres, the book encourages readers to connect with these works of fiction and understand how the catastrophically grim or disquieting worlds they portray offer insights into our own current situation.In addition to providing more than 150 encyclopedia articles on a large and representative sample of dystopian/apocalyptic narratives in fiction, film, television, and video games (including popular works that often escape critical inquiry), Dystopian States of America features a suite of critical essays on five themes-war, pandemics, totalitarianism, environmental calamity, and technological overreach-that serve as the foundation for most dystopian worlds of the imagination. These offerings complement one another, enabling readers to explore dystopian conceptions of America and the world from multiple perspectives and vantage points.
ISBN: 9781440873393Publication Date: 2022
