Welcome to the Diversity and Inclusion section on the Chemistry Subject Guide. Here you will find resources regarding minority participation and resources in the STEM fields.
American Chemical Society Diversity Communities - Founded in 1876, ACS is one of the leading organizations within the chemistry discipline. ACS has several special interest groups and societies that promote diversity. Such groups include:
ACS also provides 350 annual scholarships to underrepresented minority students majoring in undergraduate chemistry-related disciplines.
The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) - Founded in 1971, AWIS advocates on behalf of women in STEM fields to achieve business growth, social change, and innovation.
Latinos in Science and Engineering (MAES) - Founded in Los Angeles in 1974 to increase the number of Mexican Americans and other Hispanics in the technical and scientific fields. Their mission is to promote, cultivate, and honor excellence in education and leadership among Latino engineers and scientists.
The National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) - One of the largest student-governed organizations based in the United States. Founded in 1975, the NSBE supports and promotes the aspirations of collegiate and pre-collegiate students and technical professionals in engineering and technology. NSBE’s mission is "to increase the number of culturally responsible Black Engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community."
National GEM Consortium - Founded in 1976, their mission is to enhance the value of the nation’s human capital by increasing the participation of underrepresented groups (African Americans, American Indians, and Hispanic Americans) at the master’s and doctoral levels in engineering and science.
National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals (NOGLSTP) - A consortium of STEM disciplines with a mission to empower lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics by providing education, advocacy, professional development, networking, and peer support.
Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) - Is an inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.
The Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) - Founded in 1974 by a group of engineers employed by the city of Los Angeles. Their objective was to form a national organization of professional engineers to serve as role models in the Hispanic community.
The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) - Is centered around a passion for our members' success and continues to evolve with the challenges and opportunities reflected in today's exciting engineering and technology specialties.
Women in Technology International (WITI) - Helps women advance by providing access to - and support from - other professional women working in all sectors of technology. WITI's mission is to empower women worldwide to achieve unimagined possibilities and transformations through technology, leadership and economic prosperity.
American Physical Society Minorities in Physics - Promoting the recruitment and inclusion of underrepresented minorities in physics.
American Physical Society Women in Physics - Supporting the recruitment, retention, and career development of women physicists at all levels.
American Physical Society LBGT in Physics - Providing greater inclusion, engagement, and representation for LGBT physicists.
Association for Women in Mathematics - Encourages women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and to promote equal opportunity and the equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences.
Biographies of Women in Math - An on-going project at Agnes Scott College (Atlanta, Georgia) which illustrates the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics.
Latin@s and Hispanics in Mathematical Sciences - Provide an accessible platform that features prominently the extent of the research and mentoring contributions of Latin@s and Hispanics in different areas of the Mathematical Sciences.
Mathematically Gifted and Black - Highlights the accomplishments of mathematicians of color, provides mentoring opportunities, and resources regarding the historical contributions of black mathematicians.
Network of Minorities in Mathematical Sciences (Facebook page) - Aims to fortify the networks of minorities in the mathematical sciences by finding and connecting scholars.
Mathematical Association of America Resources for Minority Faculty and Students - Many great resources including info on other organizations, conferences, scholarships, summer programs, and much more.
National Society of Black Physicists (The Society of Physics Students) - Founded in 1977 to promote the professional well-being of African American physicists and physics students within the international scientific community and within society at large.
National Society of Hispanic Physicists (The Society of Physics Students/NSHP) - The purpose of NSHP is to promote the professional well-being and recognize the accomplishments of Hispanic physicists within the scientific community of the United States and within society at large.
American Chemical Society - Resources and numbers regarding minority participation in chemistry.
American Society of Engineering Educators' (ASEE) Engineering by the numbers - Includes detailed profiles of U.S. and Canadian colleges and universities offering undergraduate and graduate engineering programs.
Business Source Complete - Articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals, plus company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry research reports, and country profiles.
Chicano Database - Presents information about the Latino/Latina cultures including Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Education Research Complete - Contains over 1,200 journals and 500 books on education from early childhood to higher education.
Gender Studies - Covers academic journals, newspapers, and books on gender-engaged scholarship.
GenderWatch - Database of publications that focus on the impact of gender.
LGBT Life with Full Text - Covers lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender-specific core periodicals, books and reference works. Includes full text of important LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers.
National Science Foundation Statistics: Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering - Various figures from the National Science Foundation regarding STEM participation among minorities. Includes info on majors, intentions, and undergraduate and advanced degrees.
Statista - Collection of statistics and studies on over 600 global industries.