Library Guides: MKT 440: Country Information

Country Profiles

globalEDGE Insights by Country
Profiles for countries around the world, developed for use in international business research and practice.
BBC Country Profiles
Background information and current news on individual countries and territories from BBC News; often includes links to government websites.
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) World Factbook
Country profiles are available for most countries. Profiles include information on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, military, and more.
IMF Country Information
Profiles of countries involved in IMF activities, with demographic and economic information.

Country Reports

Business Source Complete
To find country profiles in Business Source Complete, use Advanced Search and limit Source Type to Country Report.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Mergent Market Atlas
Click on the Country link in the navigation menu to find country profiles and risk reports. Includes credit, supply, market, and political environment details and information about trade regulations.
Comprehensive profiles for publicly traded companies including financial data, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability and ESG information, SEC and annual filings, officers, directors, and analyst reports. Also provides country risk profiles and ICB Industry Reports. Quickly access a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG, and economic data views and reports. Search the following industries: technology, telecommunications, healthcare, financials, real estate, consumer discretionary, consumer staples, industrials, basic materials, energy, and utilities. Mergent Market Atlas will replace Mergent Online in 2025.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Center
Limit Publication Type to Country Reports to access reports from CountryWatch and International Country Risk Guides.
This intelligence database for security and threat analysis provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, proprietary background information, images, journals, periodicals, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management options. It combines scholarly peer-reviewed journals with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies, and publishers, and provides timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum.

Business and Commercial Conditions

globalEDGE
A web portal for international business professionals with a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Includes Ease of Doing Business index.
A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Features include trade statistics, rankings of corporations by country/region, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness. This platform was created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), and is partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program).

Country Commercial Guides
Reports and insights on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared by U.S. Embassies worldwide.
World Bank Business Ready (B-READY)
Very detailed information for conducting business in economies around the world. Includes reports and data covering regulatory frameworks, public services, and operational efficiency.
Deloitte International Tax Source
DITS is an online database featuring tax rates information and country tax highlights for over 130 jurisdictions worldwide.
World Bank Enterprise Surveys
(WBES) are nationally representative firm-level surveys with top managers and owners of businesses in over 150 economies that provide insight into many business environment topics such as access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, and performance.