Industry research is critical to understanding companies, products, and markets - especially in global contexts. Industry analysis involves the economic, market, political, and financial factors that influence (or are influenced by) an industry, and is often the first step in company and market research.
Preparing for Your Search
Identify and clearly define the industry of interest. Many industries are made up of a blend of small and large companies, and some large companies operate in multiple industries. Begin by brainstorming keywords - and think about related terms. Databases may use different terms for the same or similar industry.
Look up industry designation codes. Many business databases can be searched by NAICS (rhymes with 'snakes') or SIC code. Searching with these codes can help narrow in on sources about a particular industry. To identify a NAICS code, search for an industry or company in one of these sources:
- NAICS Search: Search for an industry using a keyword or 2-6 digit code
- IBISWorld NAICS Code Lookup: Search for an industry using a keyword or 2-6 digit code
- SIC Manual: Browse or search for an industry using a keyword or code
Find Industry Profiles
Industry profiles contain overviews and analysis of a category of business. Some industry profiles will be very broad and some may be more specific. For best results, search with an industry classification code (e.g., NAICS, SIC, etc.) or industry keywords rather than a company's name.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector. - NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
Find Non-Profit Information
- GuideStar This link opens in a new window
GuideStar gathers, organizes, and distributes information about U.S nonprofits. Searching features include geography, organization type, and financials.
Find Data and Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries. - Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, & entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.
- globalEDGEa web-based portal created by Michigan State University where you can find high-level resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 different industry sectors.
