Library Guides: CMM 460: Quichocho: Media Outlets

Media Outlets

How would you Google? Jamboard Activity

Reference Solutions
A business directory providing access to detailed information for businesses in the U.S. and Canada, searchable by business name, industry, and geographic location.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, Data Axle Reference Solutions contains directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies. Information is taken from telephone directory (white and yellow pages) listings, postal service Change of Address updates, industry and specialty directories, corporate annual reports, and business publications.

Directions

Click on the Reference Solutions link.
Click the green Search button under U.S. businesses.
Click on the Advanced Search tab.
The left hand menu has all of the filters available. Go to the header "Business Type" and click the checkbox next to Keyword/SIC/NAICS.
Since we know the specific SIC codes we're looking for, enter the 4-digit number in one of the small boxes at the bottom of the window.
1. 2711 (Newspapers) 2721 (Magazines) and 7313 (Radio/TV).
Now we're going to add another filter to our search. Under "Geography" click the box next to City/State.
Here you can select Ohio from the list and then Dayton.
Click Update Count to check on the number, and then click View Results.

Dayton Daily News, 2018–today

Access World News, a service of the University Libraries, includes the full-color digital paper edition of the Dayton Daily News from 2018 to today.

UD students, faculty and staff can access the paper to read an issue and by signing up for email alerts. Our subscription does not include access to online-only DDN content or the DDN app.

Access World News Research Collection
A database offering global news content, including newspapers, broadcasts, and online sources, enabling users to explore diverse perspectives and historical archives.
Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends in this collection of current news sources, including North American and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. It covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and people and events in local communities. Search curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, and International Studies, or more specific subjects such as African American Studies, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies, Criminal Justice, Planning, Public Policy, and Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology.