Contact Roesch Library
Databases
University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary resource that includes journals, magazines, books, reports and proceedings. Contains over 10,000 titles, some coverage from 1880s to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Part 1 & Part 2) This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia. It indexes scholarly and popular publications including journals, books, conference papers and theses.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. - Women's Periodicals: Social and Political Issues This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. Genre categories include non-fiction, verse, fiction, and drama. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for more than 800 publications, it covers disciplines such as sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.
Women's & Gender Studies Periodicals
You can also browse a list of periodicals by visiting the University Libraries website, scrolling down to Journals by Title or Subject, and clicking on the subject "Women's Studies and Feminism."
The Association for College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Women's & Gender Studies Section has also compiled a list of open access journals in Women's and Gender Studies.
