Library Guides: Physics: Find Articles

Databases

University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.

Academic Search Complete
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
Web of Science
A citation database with coverage in the physical and social sciences. Contains 150 million records.
This database indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Users may search Web of Science Core Collection or any of the following databases: BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Grants Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Physical Review Journals
Quantum, applied, modern, accelerator & beam, fluid, and energy physics research articles dating back to 1869.
Physical Review Journals is a prestigious collection of peer-reviewed scientific journals published by the American Physical Society (APS), focusing on various fields of physics and related disciplines. This platform includes several key journals such as Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A, Physical Review B, and Physical Review Materials, among others. Each journal publishes high-quality research articles, review papers, and letters that cover a wide range of topics, including condensed matter physics, particle physics, astrophysics, and materials science. The journals aim to facilitate the dissemination of significant findings and foster collaboration among researchers worldwide. Users can access original research, critical reviews, and supplementary materials, enhancing their understanding of contemporary developments in physics. The platform also emphasizes open access options to increase the visibility and accessibility of published work, supporting the global scientific community.
IOPscience
Provides access to a vast collection of scientific and technical research articles in physics and related fields, featuring peer-reviewed journals and resources for academic study.
Discover the latest research published in all science subject areas from across a portfolio of leading journals, an award-winning digital book programme, conference proceedings, and expert science journalism. The IOP Journal archive contains over 650,000 articles from 100+ Nobel laureates and Fields Medal winners, and is the definitive electronic collection for the scientific, technical, and medical research community. Topics covered in the archive: astronomy and astrophysics, atomic and molecular physics, biomedical engineering, condensed matter, education, environment and energy, instrumentation and measurement, materials, mathematics and computation, medical physics and biophysics, optics and photonics, particle and nuclear physics, plasmas, and quantum science. Further, browse nearly 1,000 e-books published between 2013 and the present.
AGU Journals
Peer-reviewed journals published by the American Geophysical Union, covering research in earth and space sciences, including geology, atmospheric science, and oceanography.
Developed by the American Geophysical Union, this database offers access to scientific research journals and books spanning a wide range of subjects. Journals include Community Science; Earth and Space Science; Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems; Global Biogeochemical Cycles; Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems (JAMES), Space Weather Quarterly; Tectonics; and many more. Books include Geophysical Monograph Series, AGU Reference Shelf, Antarctic Research Series, Earth Science Series, Field Trip Guidebooks, History of Geophysics, and many more. Special collections include Space Weather Events; Earth and Space Science is Essential for Society; The Three Major Hurricanes of 2017: Harvey, Irma, and Maria; Atmospheric Rivers; and more.
IEEE Xplore
Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, including journals, conference papers, and standards.
This digital platform provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners including the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Included are more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences. Content comprises research articles, conference papers, technical standards, transactions, journals and magazines, books and book chapters, and online educational courses. Via IEEE Xplore, the IEEE Journal Archive provides full-text perpetual access to more than 100 years of IEEE legacy content from leading IEEE journals and magazines published between 1884 and 1999. In addition to current IEEE conference proceedings, users have access to the IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive Complete Set, covering 1936 to 1999.