Dayton History

Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

This online research tool is designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical US census data and demographic information from 1790-2010, generating maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets. It creates reports at all geographic levels, including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place to show population density, income level, and more. Visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to interactive thematic maps of historical census data. Data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS, updated continuously), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program Data. International data is sourced from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data. 

This database provides access to 40,000+ detailed maps and large-scale lithographed street plans of Ohio cities drawn by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company between 1882 and 1962. Sanborn maps are valuable for historical research into urban geography and documenting changes in the built environment of American cities over many decades. The maps include outlines of each building and outbuilding; the location of windows and doors; street names; street and sidewalk widths; property boundaries; fire walls; natural features (rivers, canals, etc.); railroad corridors; building use (sometimes even particular room uses); house and block number; as well as the composition of building materials including the framing, flooring, and roofing materials; the strength of the local fire department; indications of sprinkler systems; locations of fire hydrants; location of water and gas mains; and even the names of most public buildings, churches and businesses.

The County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Ohio database provides access to a comprehensive collection of historical atlases, maps, and county histories covering the state of Ohio. It includes digitized versions of rare 19th and early 20th century county atlases, plat books, and local histories. Users can explore detailed township maps, city plans, and rural landowner maps that show property boundaries and landowner names. The database also contains biographical sketches of prominent citizens, business directories, and historical narratives about Ohio counties and communities. This resource is invaluable for genealogists, historians, and researchers studying Ohio's local history and development. The digitized materials offer high-quality scans of original documents, allowing users to examine intricate map details and read historical accounts. With its extensive coverage of Ohio counties, this database serves as a crucial tool for understanding the state's geographical, social, and economic evolution over time.