Music

This extensive reference resource for comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship is home to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Search authoritative, peer-reviewed articles with rich supporting materials including bibliographies, media, and links to related resources. The powerful search engine offers filtering options to refine by source, type, subject, and availability. Browsable topics include audio engineering, compositional practice and technique, conducting methods and techniques, ethnomusicology, music theory and analysis, musical sources and bibliographies, the philosophy of music, sound studies, and more.

The Classical Music Reference Library is a comprehensive online database designed to support the study and appreciation of classical music. It provides access to a vast collection of resources, including biographies of composers and performers, analyses of musical works, and historical context for various compositions. The database features a rich array of full-text articles from scholarly journals, music encyclopedias, and reference works, making it an invaluable tool for researchers, students, and educators in the field of music. Users can explore thematic essays that delve into specific genres, periods, and styles, as well as access audio examples and performance reviews. The platform also offers advanced search capabilities to facilitate targeted research. With its extensive coverage of classical music literature and resources, the Classical Music Reference Library serves as an essential resource for anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of classical music's rich heritage and evolving landscape.

The digital version of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music incorporates all 10 volumes of the original print edition. Volumes 1-10 cover the following geographical regions: Africa, South America, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, the United States, Canada, Southeast Asia, the Indian Subcontinent, the Middle East, East Asia, Europe, Australia and the Pacific Islands, and General Perspectives and Reference Tools for The World's Music. Content is browsable by places, cultural groups, subjects, instruments, and genres.

Brings together 50,000 pages of text, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Materials date before 1814 up to the present day. Browse genres such as blues, folk, jazz, gospel, orchestral, and opera.

This online library has hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including subject-specific biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias, and other reference sources related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.