Library Guides: Music: Streaming AV

Streaming Audio

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Offers an extensive collection of classical, jazz, and world music recordings, providing streaming access to thousands of albums and detailed information on composers and works.
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 197,000 CDs with more than 3 million tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Genres include orchestral, concerto, opera, instrumental, chamber music, sacred and secular choral, operetta, wind ensemble, and chamber music; browse also contemporary instrumental and jazz, pop and rock, and Chinese music. Peruse playlists featuring themes such as Animals in Music, Love Scenes, in Music, The Night in Music, and many others. Explore curated study guides to learn more about the Baroque Era, the Classical Era, music from Australia or South Korea, musicology, and so much more. Create your own personal account to create playlists, add albums and tracks to Favorites, and access Naxos on your mobile devices.
OhioLINK Music Center This link opens in a new window
A streaming platform offering over 81,000 tracks from various genres for educational use by OhioLINK member institutions.
The OhioLINK Music Center is a dynamic online streaming platform that provides access to a vast collection of music recordings across various genres, including classical, jazz, world music, and spoken word. With over 81,000 tracks and more than 22,000 albums, the resource is designed to support educational needs for students, faculty, and staff at OhioLINK member institutions. Users can search for music by track title, performer, album, composer, or date of composition, facilitating easy navigation through its extensive catalog. The platform offers high-quality audio streaming without the need for additional plugins, ensuring a seamless listening experience. Additionally, it serves as an educational tool by providing access to a diverse range of musical works that can enhance curriculum development in music education and appreciation. By making these resources readily available, it promotes the exploration and enjoyment of music within academic settings.

Streaming Video

Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of streaming video performances of operas, including notable productions, documentaries, and interviews with artists, showcasing the richness of operatic art.
Music Online: Opera in Video provides access to the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. Content is in Italian, English, German, French, and other languages. Release dates range from 1933 to 2010.
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
Features a collection of streaming videos focused on classical music performances, documentaries, and educational content, showcasing composers and musicians throughout history.
This resource provides a rich collection of influential performances and documentaries spanning eras and demonstrating classical music's dynamic evolution. It contains all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances. Coverage of musical time periods spans Medieval to the 21st century, with recordings from the 1950s to the present. Browse performers and ensembles such as the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Daniel Barenboim, and the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra; search composers such as Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, and Chopin.
Music Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of music videos spanning various genres and eras, providing streaming access to performances, music videos, and documentaries about artists and their work.
A comprehensive video resource for the study of music. Users experience music through thousands of performances, masterclasses, documentaries, and interviews. Content covers every genre and time period back to the Middle Ages. Browse 3,800 titles from time periods including Romantic, 20th Century, Classical, Baroque, Renaissance, Medieval, Pre-Classical, and 21st Century modern. Search composers such as Mozart, Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Verdi, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and many more.

Sheet music and scores

Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
A digital library providing access to a vast collection of classical music scores, including works by major composers, for study, performance, and research.
The Classical Scores Library is a comprehensive online database providing access to digital scores of classical music. It offers a vast collection of in-copyright scores from the classical canon, serving as an authoritative resource for musicians, scholars, and music enthusiasts. The database covers a wide range of classical music periods and genres, allowing users to search, browse, and study scores from various composers and works. It includes full scores, study scores, and piano reductions, enabling detailed analysis and performance preparation. The platform offers advanced search capabilities, allowing users to find specific works, composers, or musical elements. Additionally, the Classical Scores Library integrates with Alexander Street's Music Online platform, providing a seamless experience for accessing related audio recordings and other multimedia content. This resource is invaluable for music education, research, and performance, offering high-quality digital reproductions of scores that can be viewed, printed, or used for academic study.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Provides a vast collection of international vocal music, offering sheet music, translations, and pronunciations for opera arias, art songs, and choral works.
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Source is designed to assist singers with foreign language diction and communication by providing IPA transcriptions and literal translations in order for the singer to imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. The collection includes more than 15,000 arias, art songs and liturgical texts in Italian, French, German, English, Spanish and Latin. Representing works from 925 composers and 1,144 poets, users can easily find the repertoire they need.

University of Dayton Marian Sheet Music Collection
The Marian Library maintains a collection of over 700 pieces of Marian sheet music, including hymns, Mass settings, and even Christmas carols. The collection includes pieces for voice, piano, organ, even full orchestras, and includes songs in twelve languages dating from the sixteenth century to the present.

Music Libraries

Allmusic
All genres and styles of music are covered here, ranging from the most commercially popular to the most obscure. We critique albums and artists within the context of their own genres - from opera to garage rock to traditional country.
Eastman School of Music Sibley Music Library
Collection of digitized scores in the public domain; many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
Musopen
Musopen is a non-profit organization focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. The website provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free without copyright restrictions.
University of South Carolina Sheet Music Collection
Searchable database providing access to bibliographic records and, for those pieces in the public domain, access to images of the cover and each page of music. Currently, the collection contains over 10,000 pieces of classical, popular, and sacred music from the 19th and early 20th centuries.