News Sources
Newspapers, magazines, and periodicals can be useful sources of information about industry and market trends. Visit the News Reading and Writing library guide to see a full list of news sources available through library databases.
Your Librarian
Industry Information
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
Market & Consumer Research
- Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Analyzes market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes & purchasing habits for the US and European marketplaces.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Find and analyze Census data, including market-specific demographic reports.
Competitive Analysis
- Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, & entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information for over 80 million businesses in the U.S. and Canada, customizable by type of business, geographic location, size of business, and sales. Data also available on more than 270 million consumers.
Supplemental Industry & Market Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports. Access is provided to more than 118 journals and indexes more than 300 more. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Entrepreneurial Studies Source covers the latest insights in entrepreneurship and small business ownership, It offers hundreds of full-text journals and books, plus more than 15,000 company profiles and videos.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text to more than 290 regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. More than 7000,000 TV and radio transcripts are available.
