HST 350: Sanderson

This resource provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. "LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940" highlights the crosssectionality of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute the LGBTQ community as a whole.

This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century to the early 21st century. All content is available in full-page image with searchable full-text. Subject coverage includes The Periodical Press, Victorian periodicals, popular culture, literary journalism and criticism, politics, political science, and political satire, serial fiction and serialized novels, slavery and anti-slavery movements, temperance, religion and theology, book reviews, science, economics, sports, theatre/theater and drama, English, Scottish, and Irish literature, women's literature, and more. Major titles include All the Year Round, The Edinburgh Review, Gentleman’s Magazine, Quarterly Review, and The Tatler.

This database provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL). It contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Each issue is digitized and searchable from cover to cover, including all articles, advertisements, illustrations, editorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, and other types of content. Subject coverage includes history, literature, history of science & medicine, law, news & magazines, politics, religion, education, women's studies, art, and American studies.

This collection provides access to digitized and fully searchable American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. A wide variety of publication types are included, such as general interest magazines, religious magazines, periodicals for women and children, and specialized publications in literature, science, agriculture, medicine, and related fields. Each periodical may include a variety of content types, such as articles, poetry, short stories, serialized novels, editorials, cartoons, and advertisements. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.