Library Guides: REL 103: Brownsmith: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles - Following the Conversation

Academic journals and scholarly articles typically represent the reporting of the most current research in a given field. Whereas books may represent the amassed knowledge on a given subject, they often suffer from long publication times, and by the time they're published and distributed, there is often new research and knowledge in that field. For the most up-to-date look at your subject, look for scholarly articles in an academic database!

Recommended Databases

University of Dayton students, faculty and staff can access most electronic resources on or off-campus. For off-campus access, use your UD Porches username and password to authenticate.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
A specialized database offering access to scholarly literature in theology and religious studies, including journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This database is an index to scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included. The Scriptures link in the tool bar provides a clickable index of Biblical books, chapters and verses indexed. Atla Religion Database is produced by Atla (formerly known as the American Theological Library Association), an organization dedicated to advancing the study of religion and theology. The database is the continuation of three print publications: "Religion Index One: Periodicals," "Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works," and "Index to Book Reviews in Religion."
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
This series offers scholarly commentary on biblical texts, providing critical analysis and insights from leading scholars to enhance the understanding of scripture and its context.
Spanning 89 volumes, this is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship. Content draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world and includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha. In this collection, find articles, audio, e-books, museum images, reference works, timelines, research and teaching tools, and scripture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library with over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in diverse fields, ideal for research and scholarly exploration.
This archive is a collection of over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, e-books, periodicals, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse subject areas including Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database providing access to scholarly literature on the New Testament, including articles, books, and reviews, supporting research in biblical studies and theology. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Journal abstract categories include New Testament General, Gospels - Acts, Epistles - Revelation, Biblical Theology, and World of the New Testament. Narrower topics include interpretation, translation, acts of the Apostles, Paul, Christology, ministry, archaeology, the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Greco-Roman World, and many more.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database providing access to scholarly literature on the Old Testament, including articles, books, and reviews, supporting research in biblical studies and theology. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies. It covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Coverage dates back to 1975.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly articles, journals, and resources in religion and philosophy, covering various faiths, beliefs, and philosophical theories for research and study. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
This full-text database for theology and philosophy research includes journals and magazines and spans over 100 years. It covers many religious and philosophical topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool with a Google-like relevancy ranking to help you retrieve all types of research sources with one search.
This search tool lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search, simultaneously searching the UD catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and many of the online resources available through the University Libraries, in addition to institutional repositories and open-access resources. With UDiscover, you can access millions of journal articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, videos, and primary sources. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.